Otsego County NY USGenWeb Site

From 1773 to 1903


Pages 52 through 107

Reuben Scott & his Family

Reuben Scott was a native of Tolland, Conn. & came to Milford prior to 1800 & was one of the pioneer settlers. Purchased of one Blivens. He was the parent of five children.

     Albert Scott married & moved to Chatauqua County, N.Y.
     Minerva married Joseph Sergent.
     Caleb died when a young man unmarried.
     Parker married Polina Pattengill 
        of New Lisbon & Charlotte Brown of Milford second.
     Deacon Parker Scott had an issue of two children by his first wife & several 
        by his second wife. He was prominent in society; was deacon of the 
        Presbyterian Church a long time until he died.
     William Scott married Emeline Bates, a daughter of Capt. Lorenzo Bates and
        was the parent of two children.
     Egbert married Decette Shove of Hartwick & is a prominent business man
        in Milford. He inherits his Grandfather's old farm which is the northwest
        corner farm in Milford. 
     The daughter Harriet married Henry Shove of Hartwick & died quite young.

A man by the name of Upham settled a little south of Edson Corners quite early & did not remain long. I am unable to give a concise history of him. One of his sons died and was buried at Edson Corners. Grace, one of his daughters was a school teacher. They were early settlers & left the place early.

The Facson Family

The Fascons settled a little south of the Corners quite early in close proximity with the Upham Family & remained there till about 1822. Mr. Facson had one daughter, a very beautiful and refined lady. She was a school teacher. A young man living in the west part of town by the name of William Martin, better known as Bill Martin, who was rather rough and unpretentious, without any refinement, although his father was wealthy. Well, it has been said "Money will cover a multitude of sins". Bill became fascinated with her, admired her beauty and many qualifications, and as uncouth as he was, he ventured to make some advances to Sophronia Facson, and was cordially received. It was a wonderment by most of the inhabitants how Sophronia Facson could accept that uncouth Bill Martin. Finally one of her lady friends ventured to ask her "how so refined a lady could accept that rough Bill Martin"? Well she said, "fancy led me higher but nature told me it would do". They married and removed to Black River and Bill became very wealthy.

Thomas Hoag

Thomas Hoag was not among the early settlers, but married Miss Wilcox and was rather a prominent citizen at Edson Corners. He was the parent of two daughters and one son. Rhoda, the older daughter, married John Dean and had one daughter and John Dean died. His widow married for her second husband, Henry Marble and she soon died. Eliphalla married George Robinson of Hartwick. The son, Delos Hoag, married Susan Van Buren and had an issue of two daughters. Eliphalla and Delos are both dead. The end of the Hoag family.

David Wilcox Family

David Wilcox was born Oct. 30, 1773 in Chatham, Middlesex County, Conn. He married Polly Chappel Nov. 4, 1793; she was born in Chatham, Conn.

David Wilcox was a ship carpenter and followed the business of ship building until he left the state of Conn. And came to New York in 1808.

When Mr. Wilcox came to Milford from Connecticut, he moved his effects with an ox team with one horse in lead of the ox team. It was a long and tedious journey. When he arrived in Milford, he purchased a wild lot which was well timbered with pine. Mr. Wilcox constructed a log house which was customary with all new settlers after the primitive style. Shortly after he commenced operations, he erected a saw mill on the same premises in order that he could work up his timber to a good advantage. He became a celebrated lumberman. He was the parent of three sons and one daughter. Their names were as follows: John, David, Sylvester, and Sophrona.

     John Wilcox married Abigail W. Wright, Dec. 14, 1826 (Menzo Wilcox, father
        of John who had the Milford Tidings.). He was elected Deacon 
        of the Milford Baptist Church soon after his marriage. He was elected in 
        place of Deacon Charles Morris who had resigned.
     David Jr. Married Sally Crittenden.
     Sylvester married Catherine Bissel.
     Sophronia married Samuel Thursten.

David Jr. And Sylvester located at Coalsville, Broome County. Deacon John Wilcox was born in Chatham, Middlesex County, Conn., Sept. 28, 1794. His wife was born in Pittsfield, Rutland County, Vermont, May 25, 1801. Her father Nathan Duane Wright was born in Rutland, Vermont, Dec. 10, 1778, who was a son of Abel Wright, Revolutionary Soldier, and Captain in said war. Nathan Duane Wright was a celebrated Baptist clergyman.

Deacon John Wilcox had an issue of three children: Menzo (Menzo Wilcox, father of John who had the Milford Tidings {a written in notation}), Maria, and Sophrona. Menzo, the oldest, was born Dec. 20, 1832. Deacon John Wilcox died June 24, 1856. His wife died March 28, 1861.

Supplement to Edson Corners

The first public house erected at Edson Corners was built by the two mentioned above, and run by Jacob Edson and conducted by him for several years. He sold to Oren Adams, and Orsen Adams to Daniel Bates, and he to Calvin Bates; and he to Orange Bissel of Hartwick, and Mr. Bissel resold to Calvin Bates and he sold to Job Sergent; and Job Sergent to Gilbert Stevens. Mr. Stevens renovated and made great improvements, made an addition to it and made almost a new house of it.

After Mr. Stevens had finished his house, he thought he would have it dedicated by a Social Union Ball. The young men of the Town convened at Mr. Stevens' Hotel, and elected their managers, appointed a certain day in the month of September 1832 at three o'clock p.m. The tickets were printed and distributed by the managers, who were Parker Scott, Moses Barnard, Alfred Mumford, and William R. Hardy. No one could attend such a ball without tickets. Van Blikes Dancing Band was engaged with the anticipation of having a joyful time and the day was all that could be desired.

Mr. Moses Barnard, rather a proud young man and one of the Mangers of the Ball, did not intend to be outdone by any of his peers; he stepped over to Quaker Corners, and solicited Almira Wilcox, the Belle of Laurens, to be his partner. The day appointed, the Company was gathering very fast; just as Mr. Barnard drove up to the hotel, a pair of horses took fright and ran into Mr. Barnard, the tongue struck Miss Wilcox, knocking Mr. Barnard completely out of the wagon. Miss Wilcox had an abrasion of about seven inches across her abdomen. All this caused a great excitement for a short time. Girls fainted, and young men were almost wild with fright and all were perfectly confused for a short time. The young lady was taken in, two men dispatched for two doctors, one to Milford and one to Laurens for Dr. Lull which was her desire. The Doctors arrived; the abrasion was soon closed up and the best attention given possible.

It was supposed for a time she could not survive the shock, but fortune was in her favor. Her intestines were visible and her situation was critical. She recovered after a time.

The Ball was postponed indefinitely, and the young people dispersed. After the excitement had passed, the young lady was removed to her home.

The managers convened at Mr. Steven's Hotel, a second appointment was made and the recreation won a grand ovation.

The next season Mr. Stevens resold The Tavern to Job Sergent, who was sole proprietor for a long time. Mr. Sargent sold to Henry Wilcox, and he converted it into a cheese factory; and that was the end of the once celebrated Edson Corners Hotel.

In 1843 Capt. Lorenzo Bates' stately mansion was burned, which made a great vacancy in the hamlet. The wagon shop was vacated; the two blacksmith shops were discarded, and the place is nothing but a farm settlement today.

About 1837 a Baptist Church was organized at Edson Corners, and became quite popular. Deacon John Wilcox was the prime mover in the matter and very successful in his undertaking. He started a church with fourteen charter members who were as follows: Deacon John Wilcox and Lady, Andrew Stone and Lady, Henry Schermerhorn and Lady, Hosea Westcott and Lady, Mrs. Nehemiah Kingman and sister, Alexander Cummings and Lady, and Nicholas Schermerhorn and Lady. They soon added a large number to the church and it was quite prosperous for a time. Then a number of the members moved away and the society began to wane; and when Deacon Wilcox and wife died, the Church was abandoned.

In 1834 the Protestant Methodists organized a society, but that was of short duration. Today Edson Corners has no religious societies; neither have they any school. Once it was celebrated for its Court of Sessions, but today they have no lawyer, nor Justice of the Peace. The place is completely dried up in point of business.

I will relate one particular suit which was commenced some years ago at Edson Corners before Esquire Ezra Adams. It was a case of Assault and battery between two ladies. The ladies were Dutch people and they were very superstitious in regard to witches. Mrs. Dingman was strong in her belief AND HONESTLY SO, that Mrs. McGraw was a witch., and by her art she could inflict punishment upon anyone she pleased. Mr. Dingman had a very sick cow and Mrs. Dingman thought Mrs. McGraw had bewitched her cow and caused her sickness. Mrs. McGraw had an occasion to go past Mr. Dingman's residence. Mrs. Dingman went out to Mrs. McGraw and commenced stoning her, and said "Py Got, I will learn you better tricks than to bewitch my cow" and hurt her very badly. Well, Mrs. McGraw got away from her and got home pretty badly bruised, and related the transaction to her husband who, was very angry at Mrs. Dingman. As soon as Mrs. McGraw was well enough to ride her husband carried her to Milford to see Joseph Rice, a lawyer. Mrs. McGraw related her case to Mr. Rice, who said Mrs. Dingman deserved severe punishment for her brutish acts and recommended she go to Esq. Adams and he would go with her and have a warrant issued for Mrs. Dingman's arrest. Lawyer Rice accompanied her to Justice Adams' office and after a short examination Esquire Adams issued a warrant for Mrs. Dingman, placed it in the hands of Constable Baker, and Mrs. Dingman was arrested and brought before Justice Adams to answer for her misconduct. Mrs. Dingman procured Lawyer Edson for her Council and the suit progressed. Mrs. McGraw was placed upon the witness stand to give evidence in her behalf and stated "She went to one of the neighbor's on some business and had to pass Mr. Dingman's and when she was passing the house, Mrs. Dingman assailed her, and commenced, as Mrs. McGraw put it in her Dutch dialect, "trosing her mit stone". Mrs. Dingman said "Yes, py Cot, I trade her mit a stone". That was acknowledgment, but Edson succeeded in stopping her at the present time.

Mrs. McGraw continued her testimony; in a short time she had occasion to repeat the same words by saying, "Mrs. Dingman trude with a stone", and Mrs. Dingman said "Yes, py Cot, I trode her with a stone". Lawyer Edson saw that he was beaten in his case and made a proposition that the case be taken out of court and arbitrated. That each party should choose a referee and they should choose the third man and the case stated to them by the parties and let them decide the matter and each party should abide by their decision. He said it was a fact that the Dutch people did honestly believe in witches, and that the people were neighbors and had always lived on friendly terms and that this trouble ought to be stopped. Mr. Rice saw that he had the case and opposed the arbitration. Justice Adams said Mr. Edson's course was consistent and he would be pleased to have it taken out of court, although he had no jurisdiction to so direct, but he would recommend such a course. After some parleying the lawyers and the parties agreed to it. The parties selected their men and they heard the statements on both sides and rendered a decision.

Benjamin Aylesworth was foreman and delivered their verdict which was as follows: He said, "We have heard the evidence of the parties and made a decision. The husband of Mrs. Dingman must pay all the costs of the suit and pay Mrs. McGraw's lawyer, treat the company, and give Mrs. McGraw three dollars, and that shall be the end of the controversy. Both parties agreed to the decision. Mr. Dingman paid the cost of the suit, Mrs. McGraw's lawyer, and paid the three dollars, treated the company, and all were satisfied, and the parties went home good naturedly and were always friendly afterwards.

Chapter VII

The Alysworth Settlement

Philip Alysworth was the first settler with his family in that part of the town. He came from R.I. before 1790. Philip was of English origin. He married Martha Bennet of the same place in R.I. They had four sons and two daughters:

     William, the eldest son, married Elizabeth Mumford. William had two sons, 
         Benajah and George. His daughter's name was Abigail who never married. 
         Benajah married Electa Russel and had two sons: Marcus and Flazel.
     Benjamin married Abigail Mumford and had three children: two sons and one 
         daughter. Robinson, his eldest son, married a Miss Barbour. Job, his 
         second son, married Lavina Adams and had several children.
     The daughter Elizabeth was never married.
     William Alysworth's second son, George, married Lydia Russel, but had no issue.
         Mrs. George Alysworth was a daughter of Captain William Russel of the Revolutionary
         notoriety. During the war Captain Russel invited Gen. Washington to
         dine with him and Mrs. George Alysworth retained the table plates that were 
         used at that time when Gen. Washington dined with her father, Capt. William 
         Russel during the Revolution struggle. They were large white plates with a 
         green border. Mrs. Alysworth kept these plates very choice as long as she 
         lived and her great grandchildren kept them as sacred trophy.
     Philip Alysworth, the third son, Ira married Margaret ____, raised a large 
         family, and moved to Broome County, N.Y.
     His fourth son Samuel moved to Chenango County.
     His eldest daughter married a Mr. Bowdish.
     The youngest daughter, Sally, married Rufus Harrington, and had a large family.

A gentleman by the name of Wentworth settled on a farm no owned by Wellington Morris. He sold to Elias Rogers, who sold to Joseph Sergent, and migrated to Chatauqua County, New York. Sergent sold to David Morris.

A family of Cummings settled on the hill west of the Morris farm, and sold to William Humphrey of Chatham, Columbia County, New York.

Samuel Bidwell and brother settled on the farm, now known as the Reuben Westcott farm before 1795 and made a good improvement. They sold one farm to Stephen Jordan and the lease lot to Eli Rose. Jordan sold to Reuben Westcott of Chelsea, Massachusetts in 1814. Today it is owned by his Great Grandsons: Wellington and C. S. Morris.

A school house was erected quite early before 1796 and kept running till about 1866 when it was abandoned and joined into districts. This constitutes the Aylsworth Settlement.

Chapter VIII

Big Barn Settlement

The first settlement made in this district was made by Daniel French soon after Milford Village was settled. Mr. French came from one of the New England states about 1786. He located on the Oathant Patent and obtained a lease fort the same for one shilling per acre, to be paid in wheat or the equivalent in money.

Mr. French's eldest daughter married Chauncey Brown. His son David purchased a farm on the road that leads from the Big Barn to the Aylesworth settlement. He commenced improvements by putting up buildings and clearing the land.

In 1822 he sold his farm to Zebediah Martin of Westerlo, Albany County, New York. Mr. Martin became a very prosperous farmer and remained on the farm until his death which occurred in May 1861. Mr. Martin was seized with a fit of some sort and died suddenly. He was the parent of three children: the eldest, a boy, died when quite young. The second, a son, Albert M. Martin, married Emeline Williams, had one son and his wife died May 10, 1894. Albert lived until Aug. 14, 1897 when he was taken very ill, and died very suddenly. Harriet is still living, but in feeble health. Mrs. Zebediah Martin (Alvira Mygott) of Westerlo was a very intelligent lady, but afflicted with poor health until her death.

Biography of Zebediah Martin Family.

    Zebediah Martin born March 11, 1799 died May 27, 1861.
    Alvira Mygott (his wife) born June 20, 1798 died July 10, 1873.
          Albert M. Martin born Feb. 9, 1826 died Aug. 14, 1987
          Emeline Williams, wife of Albert, born July 7, 1838, died May 10, 1894
          Harriet Martin, wife of Ezra Wright, born Sept. 24, 1828. 
            Married Ezra Wright, and went to Washington State, and died there.

Zebediah Martin was considered one of the most prominent men of Milford. He held the office of Supervisor, and several other offices. He was one of the Assessors as long as he would accept the office. He was always very pleasant and affable to meet in all societies. He was missed by his townsmen more than most of men.

William Cunningham, Jacob Hess, and a man by the name of Fox all settled on the Oathout Patent about the same time in 1788 and all procured wheat leases, at one shilling per acre, to be paid in wheat or the equivalent in money, optional with the leesee.

Jacob Brewer purchased a farm a little south of the Clark Patent and remained there until his death, and then his son Milton purchased it of the other heirs, but finally sold it to John Armstrong, and he to David Wilbur.

George Clark had some difficulty with his tenants and sold him their leases and others he ejected, and one thousand acres fell back into his hands. He built a large barn on the plot which cost him $33,000. Mr. Clark failed financially and the property is now owned by the Equitable Insurance Company of New York City.

Andrew Shute purchased a farm adjoining the Martin farm and he kept it until his death.

Peter Cline purchased a farm which lay contiguous to the Clark property and retained the same until his death; then it fell to his heirs. He settled on the farm in 1826.

Richard Swartout was among the early settlers when the difficulty arose between Clark and his tenants. Mr. Swartout compromised with Mr. Clark, and he surrendered the premises to Mr. Clark for a certain compensation. Richard Swartout settled sometime before 1800; he was a native of Saratoga County. Mr. Swartout purchased a lease and was considered a well-to-do farmer. He reared a large and respectable family: three sons and four daughters.

     Ann, the eldest daughter, married John Westcott.
     Peter, the eldest son, married Ann Eldred.
     Phaeley, the second daughter, married Robert Eldred.
     Ephram, the second son, married Oreallia Willcox.
     James, the third son, married Margaret Willcox.
     Amanda, the third daughter, married Hiram C. Cline.
     Sarah, the fourth daughter, married 1st. Mr. Lane; 2nd. Ames Stickney.

Some of his children reared families, and some did not. Sarah is the only one of the Swartout family living.

Peter Cline was a native of Dutchess County; he located in Milford in 1826, purchased a farm west of the Big Barn, reared a family of six children: three sons and three daughters.

His eldest son, Col. Hiram Cline, was considered a prominent man in town, and held the office of supervisor, and held several minor offices in the town. His father Peter Cline was one of the foremost inhabitants of Milford. He lost his wife, returned to Dutchess County, married a lady there, and let his son Hiram manage the farm, and he never returned to Milford. After the Colonel died, the farm was sold by the heirs of the Cline family and the Cline family are all passed away.

Mathew Cully

Soon after 1810, Mathew Cully and his two sons, David and Thomas purchased a large tract of wild land, in the same vicinity, and commenced operations. They erected a house and outbuildings, and opened a public house, and were quite successful in their enterprise. After they had improved their new farm, they erected a new house of very large proportions and converted it into a large hotel. In 1813 Major Cully died and his sons conducted the same until 1822, when they sold the south half to Samuel Russell.

They retained the other part for a few years and sold to Agrippa Martin and he conducted the tavern for a few years and sold to Mathias Lane and he threw up the tavern and devoted his attention to farming. After Mr. Lane died, David Wilber purchased the real estate, and it now belongs to that firm.


In the month of October in the evening, near the residence of Chauncey Brown, a terrible catastrophe unexpectedly occurred. The lumber company of Rowland & McCallum were delivering lumber to Cooperstown on contract and their sons David McCallam & Seth Rowland, had been to Cooperstown with lumber. Mrs. David McCallom accompanied her husband to Cooperstown. On their return she rod with Rowland because he had a buck-board wagon to ride upon which was much more convenient for her comfort. They both had spirited teams, and being quite fashionable in those days to try the speed of their horses, they got to running the horses, and when near the residence of Chauncey Brown, by some unexpected mishap Mrs. McCallum was thrown from her seat, and the hind wheel struck her with such force that she was instantly killed.

It appears that there was a party at Mr. Brown's when she was conveyed into the house. The young men carried her in, and a man was dispatched for Dr. King, but it was of no avail. She could not be resuscitated. The party was dissolved and the house of recreation was turned into a house of mourning.

The serious occurrence bore very heavily upon the mind of Mr. Rowland, so much so that it caused soon after a religious reformation with Mr. Rowland, and he soon joined the Baptist Church and was a very devoted member of the cause of Christ thereafter.

Chapter 9

Settlement in the Northwest Part of the Town

The first settlement made in this part of town was by Elisha and Abel Lyon from Woodstock, Conn. They came to Cherry Valley the spring of 1790 and from Cherry Valley, they meandered their way to the foot of Otsego Lake to Tubb's Mills, and over the hill through a vast wilderness to the headwaters of the Otsego Creek, and down the said creek to what is now Mt. Vision, and there they found two settlers. They took a view of the country and went upon the hill east; there they made a selection. They purchased 200 acres of William Cooper, paid him his money and commenced operations. They cleared a patch large enough for a log house, put it up and commenced clearing their land, planted potatoes and some corn. They purchased a cow. They did their own cooking, sowed some wheat, and directed Carder Stone to feed their soft corn and stalks to their cow, and, when she was fat enough for beef, to butcher her and salt her down and they would pay him for his trouble, and they rreturned to Connecticut.

Mr. Elisha Lyon was a married man and had one child, but his brother Abel was a single man. After they returned to Connecticut, they made preparations to return to their wilderness home in the wilds of Tryon County.

As soon as the snow had fallen sufficiently, they packed their goods and with two yoke of oxen started on their long and tedious journey. They arrived in December, 1790. In good spirits, they found the house in a good state of repair, their cow butchered, and everything all right and were ready to commence work as soon as the snow had left. They were very successful in their undertaking, improved their farm, erected new buildings, and became wealthy. Elisha reared a family of twelve children. His brother Abel married and they divided the farm equally and were pleasantly situated.

The first season after their arrival, they cleared about twenty acres of land, and utilized it for different crops; they sowed it to winter wheat to be harvested the next year. It had a heavy yield and that was taken to Albany and sold. There was no other market for the early settlers of Otsego County. The first year they lived on their new farm, they had never visited the Susquehanna River, in fact, there was no road that led to the river, nothing but an Indian trail, and that they knew nothing about. In the month of October, they built a log barn and made some noise by pounding when they were putting it together. This attracted the attention of Steukely Whitford, a gentleman who had penetrated the wilds about two and a half miles west of the river. Mr. Whitford supposed he was the farthest west of any settler until he heard the loud pounding, and then he was convinced that someone was farther west than himself. In order to ascertain who had superceded him, he and his two boys, William and Noah, took their axes, and started for the sound. They marked the trees in order to find their way back and they travelled about a mile and one half and found the Lyons brothers building their log barn. Both parties were happily surprized in meeting strangers and friends in that wilderness country. They became intimate friends. The two parties cut a road exactly where they marked the trees in 1791. The road is running today where they cut it at that time except one short space.

The road was continued from the river to Otego Creek, which was the first public highway across the hill in the town of Milford, and the first below Toddsville until Oneonta was reached.

Elisha Lyon's oldest son was born in Woodstock, Windham County, Connecticut in 1789, and named Asa.
   The second son was born in Milford in in 1791 and named Elisha Junior.
   The third son was born in Milford in 1793 and named George.
   The fouth son was born in Milford in 1795 and named Harry.
   The fifth son was born in Milford in 1796 and called Alvin.
   Rebecca, the oldest daughter, was born in Milford in 1798.
   Polly and Dolly, twins, were born in Milford in 1800.
   Warren, the sixth son, was born in Milford.
   Alanson, the seventh son, was born in Milford
   Lavina, the fourth daughter, was born in Milford
   Almyra, the fifth daughter, was born in Milford in 1813, January 6.

Soon after they had become located, like all new settlers, they were badly annoyed by wild animals. The early settlers were compelled to yard their stock of all kinds to keep them from being devoured by wolves, bears, and other carniverous animals. One evening they heard a rumput in the hog pen. Abel seized his gun and they went out to ascertain the difficulty. They found a large bear in the pen and he had one of the hogs down, preying upon it. Abel, being a little excited, made a bad shot, only wounding the bear which maddened him and he left the hog and made war upon his adversary. Well, Abel had to retreat and he started for the house on a run with the bear close to his heels and he made some misstep and fell. The bear was about to prey upon him, when the dog came to his addistance and grabbed the bear by the heels which attracted the bear's attention. That gave Abel time to spring upon his feet and get to the house. Abel had found his last ball and he was compelled to mould new balls before he could renew the battle. (firedn not found) The ear returned to the hog, and before Abel could relad his gun, the bear had finished the hog.

But Abel renewed the battle, and the next shot was fatal to the bear. The neighbors heard the squealing of the hog, and the firing of the gun, and they knew there was trouble somewhere, and they came to the scene of war, and found a dead hog and also a dead bear. They all went at it and dressed both and each had a piece of bear and a piece of pork, and all went home happy the calamity was no worse than the loss of a hog.

The marriages of Elisha Lyon's children were as follows:

   Asa went to Jefferson County when young and always remained there.
   Elisha, Jr. married Alvira Bissel, daughter of Harvey Bissel
   George married Almyra Stevens, daughter of William Stevens.
   Harry married Sally Murray, daughter of Robert R. Murry.
   Alvin married Harriet Stevens, daughter of William Stevens.
   His three eldest daughters, Rebecca, Polly and Dolly were never married, lived and died maiden ladies.
   Warren married Sophia Smith.
   Alonson married Sophia Arnold
   Lovina married Warren Stockwell.
   Almyra married Alexander Young.

Mr. Elisha Lyon had a great number of grandchildren. His sons and daughters were very intelligent, and considered very interesting, well informed, and good conversationalists. His posterity is immensely large. After he and his brother dissolved, Elisha purchased a large timber lot about two miles from his residence, erected a saw mill and followed lumbering for several years. He finally sold his mill and interest in his lumber lot to his sons, Harry and Alvin. They assumed the saw business until the lumber was gone, and then divided the real property, sold out, and moved away.

The Lyon family were of Frence origin. They came to America sometime before 1700 and located in Connecticut.

The above is a short biographical sketch of the Lyon family. Let peace rest upon their graves and a long remembrance of their past acts and a crown of righteousness for their reward.

James Ray and Family

The next settler was James Ray of Massachusetts. He came to Milford just prior to 1800 and purchased a large farm of three hundred acres and was one of the primeval settlers. After he made his purchases, which was contiguous to the Lyon Brothers, he erected a log house after the new country style by covering it with bark and punchean floor; he made long strides in clearing the primeval forest and was considered rich and no doubt he was.

James Ray was of French origin; the original name in France was spelled La Ray. His father came to America long before the Revolution, and settled at Boston, and was said to have some connection with the Boston Tea Party. James Ray went into the mercantile business in Boston, and migrated to Lower Canada, and went into partnership with a certain gentleman, and became wealthy. Mr. Ray wanted to return to the States and make his future home in the United States. Consequently he devised a scheme to return to the States and take all the avails of the firm as his own. The company had a large amount of gold and silver on hand, and he waited his opportunity, and when the lake was partially frozen over, he place the gold and silver cautiously in a bag and started for the United States.

He knew the ice was very thin and unsafe; so he too the precaution to tie a long string to the bag and drew it behind him. He had been gone but a short time, when they missed him and the money. They looked for him, saw him on the lake drawing the money. The ice was so thin it was dangerous to follow him, and he had such a start that they finally concluded to shoot at him. They fired several shots at him, but it was of no avail; he had crossed the line between the countries, and Mr. Ray was safe. Before the reciprocity treaty between the two countries, no matter what the crime was, he was safe as soon as he crossed the line.

After he had improved his farm, he set out a large orchard; he divided it equally between his sons, Thomas and Gidean, and he went east. After Mr. Ray returned to Boston from Canada, he married Amy Briggs of Boston, then migrated to Milford and made his purchase.

His eldest son Thomas married Susan Janes.

His second son Gidean married Ruth Wilcox.

After James Ray divided his farm, Gidean took the west half where his father had resided, and Thomas had the east half. The two brothers seemed to prosper well, and people supposed they were getting wealthy very fast. They belonged to the Methodist Church, which had been organized, and Gidean was the first class leader.

Gidean Ray was looked upon as an exemplary man, not only in the Methodist Church, but generally as a citizen.

As soon as James Ray's orchard commenced to produce fruit, he erected a cider mill which was a convenience to the inhabitants in the community. Gidean Ray was the parent of eight children: four sons and four daughters.

     Maria, his eldest daughter, married a Mr. Westcott.
     Alonzo Ray married July Westcott.
     Melissa married a Methodist clergyman.
     Margaret married Benjamin Westcott.
     Nancy married Isaac Peters.
     James, Jason, and Nelson, the writer is unable to state whom they married.

Mr. Ray later had some very hard luck as it were; his wife became helpless with rheumatism; his health failed him; his wife died, and he was compelled to sell his farm and live with his children until his death.

Thomas Ray seemed to prosper exceedingly for a time, but trickery caught him when least expected, and he was compelled to leave the country hurriedly. Thomas became interested in and connected with a gang of counterfeiters. Some one received a counterfeit bill of Ray, and they had him arrested which caused a great commotion with those who were in league with him. It was believed that John Lilly, William Farwell, and others were interested in the scheme with Ray, but nothing was proved against them. Ray was brought before Esquire Adams for investigation and a large number of men who were pretty sharp, witty fellows laid a plot to get him away. In the evening while the trial was progressing, it was necessary for Ray to go out. Well, the Court took the precaution to have some strong man accompany him. Well, who should accompany him? Farwell being a large athletic man said he could handle him with perfect impunity. The Court said he would risk him with Farwell. Farwell went out with him and he gave Farwell the slip. It being very dark he made a sudden spring and he slipped Farwell's hand on him, and Farwell could not catch him. He gave the alarm, but Ray was gone and they never saw or heard any more of Ray until they heard from him in Canada. After Ray was safe in Canada, he wrote to a friend how it happened. It was made up with Ray and his friends that he must necessarily go out and Farwell should take charge of him.

Ray agreed to give Farwell a certain sum of money to let him go. When they were out, Ray handed Farwell his pocket book to take out what he thought was right, and he made a big grab, Ray said you must not take so much, but Farwell said, "Run, run, you dog, there's no time to parley". So Ray took the pocketbook and ran. Farwell made the alarm and they all came out and Farwell started in the opposite direction, but Mr. Ray was out of sight and hearing. Ray wrote to his near friend and told him where he could find the balance of his money - Ray had about $1,000 secreted in a safe place. He said you go to a large maple tree in Baker's woods at a certain place which has a hollow at the base. Run your hand up the hollow and you will find a tin cup which contains the money, and then send it to me. They found the tree by making a search, and found a large amount of money just as he had said, but they did not send it to Ray. Ever after the tree was called "Tam Ray's Bank". Nevertheless Ray became rich in Canada. He traded his farm in Milford by the name of Smith in Canada, but he never came to Milford himself. It was said by those that were acquainted with him that Tam was a full match for his father.

Benoni Wellman

Benoni Wellman was a native of Massachusetts. His father moved from Massachusetts to the State of Vermont, and his son Benoni married Patience Lawton, and migrated to the town of Butternuts sometime before 1795. The Wellman family were natives of Wales and came to America among the early settlers of New England. Mr. Benoni Wellman had three brothers and all four brothers were soldiers in the Federal Army. Benoni came to Milford before 1800 and purchased a farm and always lived upon it until his death in April 1835. Mr. Wellman had seven sons.

     William, his eldest son, married Betsy Houghton, and had an issue of two 
        children: a son, Harrison; and a daughter, Sophrona. His first wife 
        sickened and died young. In due time, he married Amilla Bridges, of 
        Laurens, and had three children: two sons and a daughter. His son 
        Martin was a farmer.
     Zina, the second son, was a lawyer in Iowa.
     Benoni Wellman's second son, Levi, went west to the Missouri River and 
        never returned.
     His third son, Ira, married and had one son and was stricken with apoplexy 
        and died.
     His fourth son, Zina, went to Indiana and became a herdsman, was overseer
        of a ranch, and was prominent in his business, but was drowned.
     His fifth and sixth sons, Zuri and Zeri, were twins. Zeri died when a small
        boy.  Zuri married Cemanthy Sharp.
     His seventh Son, Silas, married Arminta Camp, moved to Colesville, Broome 
        County, New York, and was a farmer.

Benoni Wellman was very singular in many respects. He would not eat anything but that which he had raised or wear anything but that which he manufactured at home. He was very particular about his sons, gave them all a good school education. All were competent to teach school, but he would not allow them to wear any clothing except homemade.

Benoni's son, Zina, was of a different temperament and would dress fashionably. He would not submit to his father's notions. He had nice clothes; a broadcloth coat, a ruffled bosom in his shirts, tassels on his shoes.

Zina was a very brilliant young man, well educated, competent and well fitted for any kind of business. His father became so enraged at him because he would show some respect for himself, that he turned him out of doors and forbade his coming into the house, and told him never to darken his door. After Zina went west and became so prominent in business and was so unfortunate as to get drowned, it worked upon Benoni's mind to such a degree he became insane. The Wellman family have all passed away.

Asher Barnard, son of William Barnard

He was considered one of the finest young men of the town. He married and located in this section, and no one was looked upon with more complacency than Asher Barnard. Nothing seemed to thwart his prosperity, nor check his progress. He got up one morning in the month of April (April 14) 1827, started his fire as usual, went to his barn, and did his chores. His wife got her breakfast and waited for her husband, but he did not come. She sent one of her little boys to call him and the boy returned and said he could not find pa. Mrs. Barnard came to the conclusion he had gone to his father's for some purpose, and did not wait for him.

At noon he did not come for his dinner, and then she supposed he had gone to work for his father. At night he did not put in his appearance, and then she became alarmed and sent her boy over to his grandpa's in order to ascertain the cause. His father said he had not been there during the day. Then they were all alarmed by his absence.

The whole neighborhood turned out to ascertain the cause. After a diligent search with lanterns, he was found lying upon the ground, dead, with a piece of string about his neck. Judging from appearances, it was supposed, after he had done his chores, he had twisted a string out of flax, went to the woods, got upon the fence, put the string about his neck, adjusted it to a limb of a tree and stepped off it, and he was suspended between the heavens and the earth. It was thought the string was not very hard twisted and by some the string untwisted after he was dead, and it parted and let him down.

It was a great wonderment how so pleasant and amiable a man as Asher Barnard could commit such a tragic act.

Asher Barnard was the first suicide in the town of Milford. He died April 14, 1827.

Caleb Wells

He located on a farm in the Wellman district, on or about 1800. The farm generally known as the Schermerhorn land. Mr. Wells constructed log buildings and made other improvements, and sold to Lebon Janes and went down the river to Unadilla and started the place now know as Wells Bridge.

He was the first settler there, built mills, and also constructed the first bridge across the river which gave it the name of Wells Bridge. Mr. Wells had the misfortune to be kicked by the kick of a horse. His brother, William Wells, located near Caleb in Milford neighborhood. He sold to a man named Barney and went to parts unknown.

Holden Stone located in the same neighborhood, but soon left.

Nathaniel Shelp Family

Nathaniel Shelp from the Mohawk river settled on a farm adjacent to Caleb Wells and remained on same some time. He sold to Elisha Lyons.

Shelp was an old Tory of the Revolution, and the old soldiers did not like him very well. Shelp liked liquor, and the old soldiers would get out to Edsons, get him drunk and get him to sing and put tar in his hair and shoes and cut all kinds of capers with him, because he was a Tory. They made a little poetry about him which ran thus:

         "I wonder why old Shelp don't sing
              And make old Jake Edson's Bar-room ring
              And turn his old hat outside in
              And wipe the tobacco juice from his chin?"

The old fellow sold to Mr. Lyons and was glad to get away alive.

Rufus Houghton from Worcester settled in the Wellman District before 1820. He reared a large family and remained there as long as he lived.

His father, Ebenezer Houghton, came with him. Mr. Rufus was the parent of eight children: Clarry, Harvey, Chauncey, Hardin, Lydia, Ebenezer, Marranda, and Betsey.

Mr. Houghton's family were all well married and were respectable and enterprising citizens; but like the old inhabitants gone to the spirit world.

John Crydenwise and Family

John Crydenwise and family came from Saratoga County and settled in the Wellman District before 1812 -- about 1803. He commenced in the wilderness and became a very influential man. He was of German origin and was better known as "Nisor". He was Deacon of the Baptist Church a long time. He was very precise in his dealings and called his word law.

He despised a man that would equivocate from his word. Deacon Nisor was a veterinary surgeon. He was ranked very high as such.

If his origin was brought in consideration, he would always boast of his "High Dutch Blood" which he said was always true. The Deacon was strong in his opinion. When he got his mind fixed, solid reasoning must be produced to change his opinion; Notwithstanding he was a very good sort of man. He had an issue of six children: Henry, John, Polly, Rachel, Catherine, and Oliver.

Deacon Crydenwise married Lucy Nash who was a very intelligent lady. She was the author of some books.

   The Deacon's eldest son never married.
   John, the second son, married Sophrona Smith of Delaware County
   Polly married Abel P. Aylsworth.
   Rachel married ? (a stranger to the writer.)
   Catherine never was married.
   Oliver married Louisa Pitcher of Cooperstown.

Oliver reared a family of very intelligent children. One of his sons is a Methodist Clergyman and ranks high among the clergy. He has been Presiding Elder for several terms.

Deacon Miser erected a cider mill in 1826 which was the first grater mill constructed in Otsego County. Prior to this mill they were old fashioned wheels on most mills. This was a slow process of grinding. Two young men of Milford who were good mechanics by the names of Holden and Caleb Sweet had an occasion to go to the State of Massachusetts in their rambles, and they saw a grater cider mill. They took the dimensions of the mill with a determination to construct one like it.

They heard that Deacon Miser intended to build a cider mill and they went to him and induced him to let them build a grater mill that would grind a bushel of apples in a minute, and if it would not grind a bushel a minute, or ten bushels in ten minutes, they would take the mill out and pay him all damage for the same. If it was the same as they stated, then they should be paid what it cost to build it. They got the mill ready and a man held the watch, and at the word they started, and the Deacon watched every motion, until the last apple was run through. The time cried out was eight minutes for grinding ten bushels of apples.

The Deacon was amazed. He said nothing for a few minutes; then he broke out in a word that he was in the habit of using and said, "Good, now who would have believed it?" "Well," he said, "I will pay you for the mill; you can leave it."

Deacon Miser's second son, who was naturally a very bright man, became insane, and that was the end of John as a useful man.

George Schermerhorn

George Schermerhorn migrated from Schodac, Rensellaer County, New York, in 1819. He purchased the Wells farm of Leabon Jones. He married Mrs. Elizabeth Kittle of the same place as himself, and had a family of five children.

   John, His eldest son, was a blacksmith and settled in Franklin, 
         Delaware County, NY.
   Henry, the second son, married Betsey Smith, and settled on the farm 
         with his father. Henry had one son George, who is still living at 
         the advanced age of 85, and is enjoying very good health. Henr
         Schermerhorn died at 93, and his wife also died at 93.
   His daughter married Martin Folmsbery, a carpenter.
   Philip married Miss Van Valkenburg. He was a blacksmith and settled in
   Nicholas, his youngest son, married Betsey Marble.

When the Schermerhorn family came to Milford, they belonged to the Dutch Reformed Church; but soon joined the Baptists at Milford Center. The father and mother and their four sons and daughters have all passed away.

James Netherell, who migrated from Wethersfield, Conn. To Milford in 1815, had a family of eight children: four sons and four daughters have all passed to eternity. They lived in the same district.

Major Gidean Marlette Family

Major Gidean Marlette came from the Mohawk River near Fort Hunter, Montgomery County in 1804. And purchased a wild farm in Milford in the Wellman District. Some of his sons came with him.

Major Marlette married Mary Quackenbush. He constructed buildings after the new country style and made long strides in regard to improvements. Major Marlette was considered wealthy in those days.

The School District, known as the Wellman District, was organized after the Major had settled; the first school house was built on the Major's farm and a lady whose name the writer cannot give taught the first school in 1806. His son, Peter Marlette, purchased a farm contiguous to his father's farm on the west and commenced the laborious task of improving a wilderness farm, and made a success of it.

Major Marlette had several sons, but none but Peter made Milford his permanent home. After he had made good improvements, Aaron Lane came from Bosman's Creek, and purchased the farm and the major migrated to Marcellus, Onondaga county, New York.

He was commissioned Major early in the Revolutionary War, and was a very energetic officer. I have heard stated by some of the old soldiers that Major Marlette was brave and fearless almost to a fault. It was said he would hazard his own life to fight the Indians.

Major Marlette was a native of Glen, Montgomery County. He was engaged in the battle of Johnstown with the Indians and Tories and he was compelled to leave his wife and little ones to take care of themselves during his absences which was rather hazardous at that time.

He was suddenly called away and was compelled to leave without making any preparations for his family. During his absence his wife was obliged to assume the duties of the farm as well as household affairs.

She was obliged to make some preparations for herself and children, in her husband's absence and her family rations were getting somewhat exhausted and she perceived it her duty to replenish her store of provisions. She set herself to work in her cooking department, and had accomplished her baking which was done in an out of door oven, and had placed her baking upon the table. Just at that moment she cast her eyes out the window and saw a band of Indian Warriors approaching from the woods and directing themselves toward the house.

She had four small children: John, William, Jeremiah, and Peter. Peter was a nursing infant who lay in his cradle. Mrs. Marlette saw at a glance that she had but little time to make her escape; so she snatched Peter from his cradle, led the older ones, and started for the forest by shading herself by the house from the sight of the savages. She reached the forest unobserved by the bloodthirsty savages. She his herself and watched their motions.

The Indians soon found her provisions which she had prepared for herself and family, and her baking was soon devoured.

After their feast they commenced their Indian Pow Wow. She very soon saw the smoke ascending from her house, which explained to her what the savages were about. Mrs. Marlette had the horror of seeing her house and furniture left in ruins and other depredations committed by the Indians. She was left homeless with her four little ones at the mercy of the elements. Her only protection was the forest trees. They went through the night without any food. Such were the scenes in the Mohawk Valley in the times of the Revolution.

Aaron Lane

Aaron Lane purchased the farm of Major Marlette in 1811. Mr. Lane was the father of seven children. His wife was Rachel Fuller.

   Harlow, his eldest son, died unmarried, when he was a young man.
     He was buried on his father's farm in 1827.
   Lorenzo, his second son, married Ziplha Bow.
   Caroline, the eldest daughter, married Louis Cronkite.
   Emeline, the second daughter, married Caleb Paul of Cooperstown.
   Philander, the fourth son, married Eveline Gile.
   The fifth son married Levancia Gile.

Aaron Lane, wife, and all the children, have gone from this life to eternity.

Peter Marlette

Peter Marlette, a son of Major Marlette, purchased a farm in the Wellman District in 1805, which lay adjacent to his father's farm on the West. Peter commenced in the wilderness like all new beginners and always remained there and made a success.

Peter married Elizabeth Evans, born July 24, 1786. They had an issue of thirteen children.

   Margaret, the eldest, married Harvey Keyes.
   Maria married Hiram Harrison.
   Ann Eliza married 1- William H. Lyman of Connecticut;
                     2- Henry Hopkins.
   Silas married Rachel Hardenburg.
   Ezra married Climenia Walker.
   Eveline married James Knotz of Montgomery Co., N.Y.
   Cardealia never married; died when a young lady.
   Susan married 1) Dr. Elijah P. Walker of Hartwick 2) David G. Carr.
   Isaac went west and married there.
   Cornelius married Mary Ann Hopkins.
   Simon married Judy (July) Gile.
   Menzo married Emeline Wilcox.
   George married Harriet Wilcox.

The daughters are all dead and four of the brothers; only three are left.

Gidean Marlette Family Record of Montgomery County, N.Y.

Gidean Marlette born January 14, 1747.
Mary Quackenbush, his wife, born March 8, 1753.

John Marlette born January 4, 1772. Jeremiah Marlette born August 20, 1775. William Marlette born December 1, 1777. Peter Marlette born March 4, 1779. Abraham Marlette born October 7, 1781. Mary Marlette born April 15, 1783. Cornelius Marlette born September 3, 1786. Susannah Marlette born June 13, 1789. Margaret Marlette born August 20, 1791. Thomas Marlette born May 16, 1794. Isaac Marlette born December 31, 1797. Gidean marlette died December 13, 1820. Mary Marlette died December 25, 1825. Both died in Marcellus, Onondaga County

Copied from the family Bible, dated 1801.

The Marlettes were French Huguonauts and were driven out of France by the Bourbons, and took refuge in Holland. After remaining in Holland for a time, they emigrated to America. The original name was spelled Marlette, accented on the last syllable. That was the French style of pronouncing the name. Today it is spelled Marlett, accented on the first syllable. A large number of the Marletts spell it and pronounce it after the old French method.

Thomas Martin

Thomas Martin was one of the early settlers of this district, who came from Florida, Montgomery County in 1805, and settled north of Major Marlette's farm.

Mr. Martin was a farmer and a tanner. He erected a tannery in 1806. He was very successful in his business and was called wealthy. He remained on his farm until 1818 and then sold to Cornelius Lane of Bowman's Creek, who was a brother of Aaron Lane.

After Mr. Martin sold to Mr. Lane, he and his sons migrated to Black River, Jefferson County, New York, and remained there until his death.

Cornelius Lane

Cornelius Lane married Margaret Sutphen of Cherry Valley and reared a family of six children, whose names were as follows: John, Eliza, James, Albert, Gilbert, and Jay.

Mrs. Lane was celebrated for her gift of oratory. But few ministers could excel her in speechifying.

Mr. Lane's family stood high in society. In or about 1834 he sold to Harvey Hughston and moved to Middlefield.

Captain John Bruce

Captain John Bruce was born in Holland and came to America with his parents when a small boy, and located in Pennsylvania. The Bruces remained in Pennsylvania but a short time, and then removed to Louden County, Virginia when John was still quite young. At the breaking out of the Revolutionary War, Mr. Bruce enlisted as a soldier and was appointed Captain and served under General Francis Marion. Captain Bruce saw a great deal of Hard fighting during the American struggle for liberty. Captain Bruce's old sword which he carried through the war is still in existence. When an old man, he gave it to his grandson and asked that he never allow it to be dishonored. After he had presented it to his grandson, he said "That sword went through the whole war and was always in the heat of battle". That sword, he said, "cleft the skull of an Indian Chief, and wounded a Tory so he became an easy prisoner". "Take it and keep it as a sacred memento is your Grandfather's last request."

Captain John Bruce married Susan Cooper, sister of the late Judge William Cooper of Cooperstown, New York.

The Cooper family were natives of Virginia. Capt. Bruce had an issue of seven children, four sons and three daughters.

His sons' names were Abner, Aaron, John, Jr., and David. His daughters' names were Betsey, Susan, and Letiecia.

He came to Otsego County from Virginia about 1798 and located near the town line between Milford and Laurens. He remained on the same farm until his death.

Judge Cooper was anxious to have Captain Bruce come to this country and as an inducement he made him a present of the above named farm which he accepted with many thanks. His son David married Ruth Baker, and located near Edson Corners, was the parent of three children: one son and two daughters.

   Theodore D. married Orceilia Applebee.
   Lucina married Sylvester Sherman.
   Aurealia married John Stewart and all were respectfully situated.

Chapter 10

West Milford District

The first settlement made in this vicinity was made by William Stevens in 1801. William Stevens was born in the town of Sheffield, Burkshire County, Massachusetts, December 7, 1771. When a young man, before Otsego County was, he lived at or near Richfield Springs, when the whole country was a vast wilderness. He returned to Massachusetts in 1793, married Esther Holcomb of Canaan, Litchfield County, Connecticut. Esther was born March 18, 1777, married March 5, 1795.

William Stevens was a cooper by trade. He located in Sheffield, Massachusetts, and remained there until February 14, 1798. He migrated to Otsego County, New York, and located in the town of Suffrage about one half a mile below the present Portlandville. He set his wife and two children out on the west shore of the Susquehanna the 14th day of February 1798 in a vast wilderness.

He removed from there to west Milford as stated above, and commenced a new wilderness farm. The farm he first settled on on the river he purchased from Micah Haskins, and he of John Moore of Cherry Valley. Moore was the first settler, built a log house, covered it with bark and split plank for the floors and door, a door in one end of the house for a fireplace and a hole in the roof to let the smoke of the fire escape. They filled the crevices between the logs to shut out the cold. A window of four panes of glass was installed and all was complete. All new beginners constructed their houses after the same fashion. While he was at work on his new farm, Daniel Gilbert of Middlefield came along. He was a surveyer. He stopped to converse a short time and Moore asked Gilbert to stay and take dinner, which he accepted. While Mr. Gilbert was in conversation, he said that he had been surveying the Fracktrons of the Otego Patent, and said there was a two hundred acre farm he admired very much. Mr. Gilbert gave Mr. Moore a description of the lot, and said "You can find it without any difficulty, and sell your place here and locate on that, and you will not have to pay anything for it." He said he did not believe there was any owner for it. He said, if you conclude to do so, you must get someone to make a commencement and they must quit-claim it to you, and that will give you the title to it.

Mr. Moore got two other men near by and made a search and found the lot without any difficulty. He admired the situation and followed the advice of Mr. Bilgert and located on the lot. He got a man by the name of Tryon to work one day on the place, to fell the first trees sufficient to build a log house and Tryon quitclaimed to him and helped him build his house for fourteen bushels of ears of corn; he had a farm of two hundred acres of land. Moore went to work and put up a respectable building for a new country. He thought himself well located.

After a few years had passed, he supposed everything was all right. Judge Cooper came on and claimed the farm and he must pay him for it or leave it at once.

Well, Moore did not intend to lose his improvements; so he purchased the farm of Mr. Cooper. Judge Cooper took advantage of him, and made him pay four dollars an acre for it. Judge Cooper ought not to have charged any more than the government price which was one dollar an acre.

Cooper knew the improvements Moore had made would enhance the value; consequently, he compelled Moore to pay for his own improvements.

William Stevens, who bought the farm, remained on the said farm until his death, December 25, 1858. Mr. Stevens reared a family of thirteen children.

   William Jr., the eldest son, was born in Sheffield, Mass. February 26, 1796.
   Harriet, the eldest daughter, was born in New Marlborough, Massachusetts, November 23, 1797.
   Almiyra was born in Suffrage, New York, Oct. 17, 1799.
   Sally was born in Milford, March 10, 1802.
   Alice was born in Milford, Feb. 12, 1804.
   Amy was born in Milford, March 8, 1806.
   Polly was born in Milford August 1, 1808.
   Clarissa was born in Milford Oct. 6, 1810.
   Razzel was born in Milford Jan. 6, 1813.
   Simon was born in Milford Feb. 22, 1815.
   Cyrus and Cerra twins, were born May 22, 1817, in Milford.
   Ezra, the youngest, was born in Milford Nov. 8, 1819.

This constitutes the Stevens family. The whole family have passed away except Ezra, the youngest.

I will give a short genealogical history of the Stevens family which may be of some benefit to the reader.

The Stevens name originated in England several centuries back and was originally spelled Steevens, but in due time an e was dropped, and it was spelled Stevens.

I am a descendant of one of the three brothers who emigrated to America in the year 1670. One of the three brothers, Sir Thomas, settled in Plainfield, Richmond County, Connecticut. William settled in New Jersey, and Cipean went South and settled in one of the southern states. They were very rich.

Sir Thomas Stevens, who settled in Connecticut, purchased a whole township of land, and called it Plainfield after the place he had left in England. The writer is a descendant of Thomas. My grandfather's name was William, one of Thomas Stevens' sons.

Thomas Stevens was the parent of eleven children: seven sons and four daughters. The Stevens family became very numerous in the New England States. Sir Thomas lived to the age of ninety-eight.

The Coat of Arms of the Stevens family has been preserved and placed in the Historical Society of Boston; "He Beareth Party, Per Chevron; Azure, And Argent, In Chief Two Falcons Volant Sirs, By the Name of Stevens". The above reading of the Coat of Arms is on record in London, England and all painted out.

My grandfather Stevens married Alice Bennet of Rhode Island who was also of English origin. After my grandfather Stevens was married, he purchased a farm in Sheffield, Massachusetts, and lived on the same for a long time.

When the New England colonization was organized, for the purpose of starting a Yankee Colony in Pennsylvania, he joined the society and went with the colony to Pennsylvania, and they located at Wyoming on the Susquehanna River.

A difficulty arose between the Pennanites and the Yankees and they resorted to arms. It proved the Yankee title was not good. The Revolutionary War broke out, and they lost their land and possessions and could never recover the same.

When the war commenced, my grandfather espoused the Colonial cause. My Uncle Razzel joined the federal army and served for three years. Then he reenlisted and went into the Navy, and that was the last he was ever heard from by his friends. Just prior to the Wyoming battle and Massacre, Grandfather was sickened and died. The whole settlement took refuge in the fort, my grandfather with the rest. (That means my grandfather's family.) The Fort was garrisoned by a small army, sufficient to guard it if they had remained in the fort. The soldiers were so patriotic when they heard that Gen. Butler and Brant were in the vicinity, they thought it advisable to give them battle and drive them out of the Wyoming Valley. Colonel Butler, who was in command of the garrison, opposed such a move, but the soldiers had imbibed so much rum that they lost their reason and Col. Butler could not control them. They went out and gave battle and were badly slaughtered.

The fort was left almost defenseless. None but the old men, women, and children remained in the fort, and they were at the mercy of Butler and Brant.

The army came on and demanded a surrender. After some parlaying Gen. Butler stipulated that if the inmates of the fort surrendered peaceably, none would be hurt. The people in the fort consented. The gates were thrown open, and the Indians and Tories rushed in. They plundered and took everything of any value, then paroled the inhabitants by the Indian style, by painting the right side of the face red, and then sent them off. My grandmother was in the fort with her whole family, which consisted of herself and seven children; six daughters and one son, my father, a boy of seven years of age. Four of her daughters were young women. I have heard my father state what capers they cut and how they acted more like demons than human beings.

All my grandmother saved was a set of silver teaspoons and her gold beads by tying them up in her underclothes. They left the fort the same day, and traveled through the country to New England penniless.

I will add a supplemental to the foregoing. Parshal Terry, a Tory in the British army, married my grandfather's eldest daughter some time previous to the Revolution, and when the war broke out, he espoused the American cause and enlisted in the Federal Army for three years. He claimed to have done some meritous acts which entitled him to some deserved honors. His three years had expired, and he was ready and willing to reenlist, but would not unless the war department would promote him to captaincy. This they would not do, but ter him during the war. (this is as written - joyce). At that he took offense and turned Tory and joined the British Army, like Benedict Arnold. He was under Butler and was at Wyoming. He claimed through his influence with Butler the inhabitants of the fort were saved. He had an interest in the matter for his wife was with her mother at the fort when it surrendered. It has been stated by some historians that the inmates of the fort were all massacred and atrocities were committed upon the people by the bloody Brant. It is all a fabrication. Brant was not at Wyoming which has been fully demonstrated.

Mr. Campbell stated in his Annals of Tryon County what depredations the bloody Brant committed upon the innocent women and children of Wyoming which John Brant took exception to, and Campbell made some restitutions to John Brant. John Brant was a son of Joseph Brant, well educated in English and was a fine orator.

Mr. Terry said that Brant was not at Wyoming, but was at Cherry Valley. After the war was ended, Parshal Terry was rewarded by King George by a large tract of land in Canada on the west side of Niagara River. He never dared risk his life in the United States after the war.

After Mr. Stevens came to the town of Suffrage, now Milford, he commenced farming and always followed the business. He was a cooper by trade, which was exceedingly beneficial to him in his wilderness home. Coopers were needed at the time.

All the pails and tubs were made by the cooper and met with a ready sale among the inhabitants. In the winter season he made it his general business and had a ready market for all he could make. When he decided to go west to Tryon County, he disposed of all of his possessions except his cooper's tools and his household furniture, and prepared himself for his long journey. He has what he called a "Tom Puny" (today a one horse sleigh), and he packed his cooper's tools and some of his household furniture. The rest he stored there until some future time. He placed his wife and two children on top and determined to see the Susquehanna River. He did after eight day's travel. After he left Schenectady, he traveled through wilderness, but on the eighth day he arrived at his new home. He was well received by the other settlers and was successful in his undertaking.

He lived to see his children all married and settled in life. William, Jr., his eldest son, married Lucy Sweet of Hoosack, New York, and reared a family of eight children, but all have passed away but two. The eldest son Miles and Harriet are still living.

Harriet, William's eldest daughter, married Alvin Lyon. The second daughter married George Lyon and had an issue of four children: Rebecca, Louisa, George C., and Zuella, the youngest daughter. Sally, the third daughter, married Freeman Phillips of Rhode Island. They had six children: George, Mary, Melissa, John, Serepta, and Phroscena. Mary and Serepta are left; the other four have passed away.

William Stevens, Jr. And Lucy Sweet had eight children: Emily, Esther, Miles, Marion, Harriet, Lucyanna, Jared, and Mary.

Alice, the fourth daughter, married Eli Rose and had an issue of four children: Jesse, Nathan W., Harriet, and Eugenia K. Rose. Jesse and Eugenia K. are dead. Nathan W. and Harriet are living.

Amy, the fifth daughter, married Elihu Rose and had three children: Hellen, Lucina, and Delevan. All are dead.

Polly, the sixth daughter, was never married.

Clarissa, the seventh daughter, married Noah Grover and had five children: Hellen, Amasa, Lucy, Harriet, and Ezra. All are dead.

Razzal, the second son, married Nancy Trumble Camp and had five children; all are living.

Simon, the third son, married Eunice Mead and had twelve children: Emeline, Harriet, Edgar, Maria, Adoniram, Sidney, Alice, William, Esther, Alphanzo, Mary, and John.

Edgar, Adoniram, and Sidney were soldiers in the American Rebellion. Sidney was killed at Chancellorsville, Edgar was wounded at the same battle, left on the battleground helpless, picked up by the Rebels, and carried to a Rebel Hospital. His wounds were dressed by Dr. Todd, Mrs. Abraham Lincoln's brother, who was the principal surgeon of the rebel hospital. He was held a prisoner for a time and was paroled. While he was held a prisoner, he met General Lee and had an introduction to him by Dr. Todd. General Lee visited the hospital several times and was always very courteous and an agreeable conversationalist. Edgar said he was the most soldierly looking man he ever saw. After he went back to his regiment and recovered from his wounds, he was promoted to the office of Major. Before he received his commission, he was wounded in the Wilderness, and was never able to take his place again. Since he was a good soldier and an easy penman, he was put in the Mint Department as bookkeeper and remained there until the war closed.

He never recovered from his wounds and they finally caused his death. Adoniram was killed in the battle of the Wilderness the fifth of May, 1864. Ezra, the fifth son and the youngest, is still living. Cyrus, my father, the fourth son, died young. Cana, the eighth daughter also died young. Ezra, the fifth son, married Anna L. carpenter of Norway, Herkimer County, New York, and had no issue. Ezra's wife died April 19, 1892.

The large posterity of William Stevens, which consists of grandchildren, great grandchildren and great great grandchildren are scattered through the different states of the Union.

Benoni Adams

The second settler in West Milford was Benoni Adams, of Woodstock, Windham County, Connecticut. He came to West Milford in 1801, purchased a wild lot of land and constructed log buildings and commenced as a farmer.

Mr. Adams was a very peculiar man but a high minded, intelligent gentleman. He was endowed with uncommon mechanical ability. He was a master of three different trades. He was a setwork cooper, a potter, and a clockmaker. He conducted the pottery business, but not in Milford because there was so little clay in Milford. When he worked at clockmaking, he went to Connecticut and worked in the clock factories there.

But he erected a cooper factory on his own premises. In addition to these three trades, he was a vocal musician. He was a composer of vocal music. He was a compositor and compiler of vocal music. He published several musical books with great skill and taste.

He followed the profession until he became very old. Mr. Adams was classed with the highest class of vocal musicians. He accumulated a large property and was very benevolent. He lived a bachelor until he was 66 years old. He told the writer if he was to live his life over again, he should not be in a hurry to get married. His wife's name was Lydia Baker of Grandville, Vermont. She was a fine woman, but a little hysterical, which Mr. Adams did not admire.

Jacob Wellman Family

Jacob Wellman, a "soldier of the Revolution" came to West Milford and constructed log buildings in the primeval forest and commenced operations as a farmer. Mr. Wellman migrated from Vermont in the spring of 1804.

When he came to Milford, his family consisted of himself, wife, and four sons and one daughter, Fanny, who was an infant. The five children were born in Vermont. Two sons were born in Milford. Jacob Wellman was a native of Massachusetts. The Wellmans were of Welch origin. Their ancestors migrated to America and settled in New England. It appears from observation that white men had traveled through this wilderness country long before it was really settled. Marks of white men have been seen in many different ways. When Mr. Wellman was felling the giant forest trees, he felled a large hemlock tree, and found it had been boxed by a white man and a white man's ax. After it had fallen, curiosity led them to count the grains outside the box and they numbered 105 rings. The tree was cut in 1816. The reader will readily see the hemlock tree must have been boxed in 1711. The writer found a round leaden bullet which had been shot in an oak tree and according to mathematical rules, it must have penetrated the tree in 1731. This shows clearly that white men must have traversed the country long before it was settled by white men.

   Mr. Wellman's oldest son ____ married Miss Bruce, a daughter of Capt. John Bruce.
   Francis married Amy Eldred.
   Alfred married Nancy Stanton of Laurens.
   Lyman married Betsey Stanton of Laurens.
   Fanny lived and died an unmarried lady.
   Charles married Sally Martin.
   Jacob Jr. Married Sally Sweet, daughter of Dr. (Bonesetter) Sweet who was a native of Rhode Island.

The second generation all had large families, but have all passed away. Some of the third and fourth generations are living.

Several families came to West Milford from Montgomery County and the Mohawk River, in the years 1807-1908, and made quite an improvement.

There were Nortons, the Marshalls, the Towns, Martins, and Richard Carley, and all had large families. Mr. Norton soon moved away to other parts. Richard Carley remained for some time and finally moved to the southern part of Milford (now Oneonta), and remained there until his death.

Robert Martin married Rachel Quackenbush, and purchased the farm that is owned by Jacob Cox. He sold his farm in 1839 and emigrated to Pennsylvania. He was the parent of six daughters and three sons.

   Susan, his eldest daughter, married James Williams.
   Maria, his daughter, married John Brimer.
   Betsey married Nicholas Schermerhorn.
   Catherine married Amos Rogers.
   Ester married Isaac Van Valkenburg.
   Mahaly, his youngest daughter, married Jacob Siver.
   Jarry Martin, the eldest son, married Mary Ann Tarpening.
   Peter went to Illinois and married a lady of that state.
   Thomas married Lois Scutt.

The Robert Martin family scattered to different states and all have passed to eternity.

William Pettengill

William Pettengill of Revolutionary fame married Sarah McGraw and migrated to Milford from Florida, Montgomery County about 1808.

   Elizabeth, the eldest girl, married Guret Martin.
      Mr. Martin's eldest girl married Levi Platt of Delaware County
   Sally, the second daughter, married Charles Wellman.
   Catherine, a daughter, married Nathaniel Newel.
   John Martin married July Ann Stanton.
   William, the youngest, married Adeline Williams.

The whole family have passed away.

William Pettengill's second daughter married Nathaniel Shelp, Jr. Samuel, his son, married Catherine Putman, and had an issue of two girls. Sary Ann married Alfred Wellman, a farmer. The second daughter married Martin Van Buren, son of Cornelius Van Buren and is still living, who was a farmer and speculator. Mrs. Martin died several years ago. Mrs. Van Buren is still living.

George Siver, one of the prominent men of West Milford came in the district in 1833 and married Lashe Murry and had two sons. John, the eldest, married Hellen Mumford. Datus, the younger married Miss Francisco first, and second Miss Thayer. Datus was a dental surgeon and located in Cooperstown. He was president of the Cooperstown and Charlotte Valley Railroad. George Siver died several years ago, but Mrs. Siver is still living although very feeble. Mr. Siver's two sons have an issue of fine children.

David Savage

The farm now owned and occupied by Alonzo Wellman was first settled by David Savage in 1807. He sold to Darius Loamer and Loamer sold to William Russell, a Revolutionary soldier. He sold to Robert R. Murray, a native of Rhode Island. Mr. Murry reared a large family.

   Sally, the eldest, married Harry Lyon.
   Betsey married James Pope of Grafton.
   Polly married Eli Rose, Jr.
   Olive married John Shute.
   Freeman married 1 - Harriet White 2- Eunice Alysworth.
   William married Jane Shute
   Brooksana married Nathaniel Rose.
   Susan married Oran Georgia, a singing master.
   Minerva married Hamilton H. Westcott.

This constituted the Murry family.

Hallet and Cassine were settlers on the farm now owned by the Washington Keyes estate about 1804.

Samuel Curry was the first settler on the Samuel Pettingill farm now owned and occupied by William Thayer.

In that year the inhabitants had increased so fast that it was deemed advisable to organize a school district. Consequently, the people selected a suitable plot, and erected a large school house according to new country style. John Jordan was the first teacher. He was a very peculiar man in many respects. He preferred to live in the school house and do his own cooking. Mr. Jordan was an excellent teacher and had a large respectable school.

Along about 1820 John Cornrike of Paines Hollow, Herkimer County came to Milford and purchased a farm near the school house and was a very beneficial inhabitant for the place. Mr. Cornrike was a shoemaker of experience which was just what the people in that vicinity required. He also had a large intelligent family of some worth to the neighborhood.

In 1830 he sold his farm to Freeman Phillips of Rhode Island and removed to Catlin, Tioga County, New York.

William Van Buren

William Van Buren was one of the early settlers of this wilderness country. He migrated to West Milford from Glen, Montgomery County in 1804.

Mr. Van Buren was a soldier of the Revolutionary War and saw some hard fighting with the Indians and Tories under Brandt. He saw the Indians ply the torch to his father's buildings and commit other depredations characteristic to Indian warfare.

Catherine Putman of Glen, Montgomery County, married William Van Buren in November 6, 1785. Mr. Van Buren was born and reared in Kinderhook. His parents migrated to Glen some time prior to the Revolution when he was a boy. The Van Buren name in Holland before they came to American was Maessen. The Van Buren family emigrated from Holland to America in 1631. There is quite a difference in the name then and now. I shall not explain it as it is too voluminous.

William Van Buren was the parent of five children: four sons and one girl.

   Mr. Van Buren's oldest son was named Barney, commonly called Bornt.
   Cornelius, the second son, was born September 14, 1792.
   Henry was the third son.
   Tobias was the fourth son. All were born in Glen, married and raised families.
   Elizabeth, born in Glen, was never married and died when she was seventy-five years old in Montgomery County.

Barney lived to be very aged. Cornelius married Mydelana Martin of Glen in 1812. Henry died in Stanton, Montcalm County, Michigan, aged seventy five years. Tobias, a farmer and wagon maker, died in Laurens, aged seventy-five years, leaving one son and three daughters.

William Van Buren and Gidean Marlette, both farmers of Montgomery County wended their way through the wilderness of Montgomery and Otsego County to the Susquehanna and located about three miles west of said river.

After they had each selected large farms near together in the early spring of 1804, they returned to Montgomery and made preparations for their removal.

Major Marlette removed immediately, and Deacon Van Buren a little later, but the same season. Cornelius came with his father, but when he became a man, returned to the old Mohawk, and he was employed y Peter Putman, a wealthy man. He finally married Miss Martin and settled in business.

After he was persuaded by his father to take his farm and manage it as his own, he accepted the proposition, and came to Milford, and was a successful business man. His oldest son, Putman, married Rachel Enders of Glen. Putman was adopted by Peter Putman, and remained with him and inherited his large estate, which was about one hundred thousand dollars. Susan, his eldest daughter, married Delos Hoag and is still living. Hester married Samuel Enders, and is still living with her brother at Mt. Vision. William, his second son, lost his mind when about fifteen years.

It was rather singular what caused his insanity so young. He thought he experienced religion, and was very studious and read the Bible almost incessantly, which was believed by some the cause of his insanity. Martin, the third son, married Rebecca Pettengill who are both in the declivity of life. Elizabeth married Maryin Penyne of Montgomery and are now residents of Oneonta.

This constitutes his children by his first wife who were in this vicinity and highly respected in society.

Mr. Van Buren married second the widow Margaret Hardenberg of Montgomery County and had one daughter, Delana who married Silas Robinson of Hartwick. Mrs. Robinson was always in rather feeble health, and was compelled to undergo a surgical operation and died from the operation. Her husband survived her a few years.

Mr. Van Buren has a large posterity of grandchildren and great grandchildren to mourn his loss. Cornelius Van Buren lived until he was about ninety. He died August 29, 1881.

Mr. Van Buren was married the third time when in his eighties to Mrs. Rachel Fields, a widowed lady of Mt. Vision. She was very kind to him in his old age.

John A. Cronkite

John A. Cronkite came to West Milford with his wife and two sons from Hoosick, in 1816, purchased a farm of William Wellman, had a quitclaim deed and commenced operations as a farmer and occupied the farm until his death.

His two eldest sons, Louis and Ebenezer, were born in Hoosick. His eldest daughter was born in West Milford in 1817. His third son was born in Milford. His second daughter, Dianna, was born in West Milford. His third daughter, Mary, was born in West Milford. Mr. John A. Cronkite married Anna Potter of Hoosick and remained in Hoosick until he came to Otsego County. Hoosick was his place of nativity. His father was a wealthy farmer and died very suddenly with blood poisoning.

Louis, his second son, married Caroline Lane in the Wellman District. He was a carriage builder and located in Portlandville. He was very prosperous in his undertakings. A diversity of opinion arose between him and his wife and they separated. Undoubtedly both were a little scurrilous and determined and it proved a permanent separation.

Louis married Elizabeth Leaning for his second wife. Louis was a prominent politician, and was door-keeper in the House of Representatives.

He had two sons by his first wife, one a wagon maker. The youngest James was a soldier in the Rebellion, was wounded, drew a pension, and now has a government appointment.

Ebenezer, the second son of John, married Sally Ann Low. He had one daughter, Minervia, who married Andrew Spence, a native of Herkimer County, a hardware merchant. His son, Austin Cronkite, married Melissa Seeber. He is an undertaker and a good businessman.

Anna eldest daughter, married Barzilla Edson, who was a carpenter, and had an issue of three sons.

Dianna, the second daughter, married Staughton Kingman. There was no issue.

William, the third son, married Dealia Reed, and had two sons.

Mary, the youngest daughter, married George Teel and had one son and a daughter. John A. Cronkite and wife and all his children and their companions have passed away except Mary, and she is a widow.

School. In the year 1830, the inhabitants of West Milford thought it desirable to increase their school. They called a school meeting, changed the district, and built a new school house. Amos Rogers was the first teacher. West Milford has been blessed with several names. At first it was called Shingle Hill, because the people manufactured a large amount of shingles for sale.

The Wellman District or the west part of it was settled by several Dutch families from Montgomery and Mohawk. A log school house was constructed on the corner know as the Aaron Lane place, and received the name of Dutch Hill.

Soon after a large number of families came from the same counties and settled on Shingle Hill, and both sections were called Dutch Hill. After several years, the former school house was moved and the former place was called Wellmans. The latter place retained the name of Dutch Hill for a long time. Finally the name was changed to West Milford. A large Temperance Society was organized there and some disliked the name of Dutch Hill; so the name was changed to West Milford.

That Temperance Society had a membership of over two hundred and never but one of the members became an habitual drinker of ardent spirits. Two hard drinkers were restored and became steady men.

Spoonville District

The first settlement 1795 was made by Samuel Bidwell of Massachusetts. He purchased the farm, better known as the Reuben Westcott farm, now owned by the Morris brothers. Mr. Bidwell sold to Stephen Jorden, and Jorden sold to Reuben Westcott of Cheshire, Massachusetts (Cheshier) in 1815. Mr. Westcott sold to his son Reuben Westcott Jr. And it remained in the Westcott name until the Morris boys purchased it in 1901. They were great grandsons of Reuben Senior.

Timothy Young was the next early settler and purchased the farm now owned by Nathan W. Rose.

The third settler was Robert Marble.

Mr. Reuben Westcott, Senior, reared a family of twelve children: six sons and six daughters. Nine of them were born in Cheshire, and three in Milford.

   Andrew, his eldest son, married Hannah Russel.
   Polly, his eldest daughter, married Jason Willcox.
   Hosea married Henrietta Bates. 
   Reuben married Wealthy Rose.
   Otis, the fourth son, married Sally Morris.
   Orisa married Nelson Mumford, a Baptist clergyman.
   Harvey married Sally Bates.
   Susan married David Morris.
   July married Alonzo Ray.
   Erastus married Miss Lucy Ann Rockwell.
   Eliza never married.
   Leurania married Chester Rockwell, who was a manufacturing clothier.

The whole Westcott family have gone to their long home except Erastus. He was a Baptist minister located in one of the western states.

Timothy Young had three children: two daughters and one son. Polly, the eldest, married Capt. Joseph Westcott who was a soldier of the War of 1812.

Robert Marble settled in this district prior to 1800; purchased a farm, constructed log buildings like all early settlers, commenced by clearing the primitive forest, and soon sold to Isaac Squires of Columbia County.

Isaac Squires came to Milford some time before 1808 and purchased a farm in what is now called "Spoonville" of Robert Marble, and now is owned and occupied by Dr. Isaac Chase. The farm that Mr. Squires purchased had a mill seat upon it which he utilizes by constructing a saw mill and machine shop. Mr. Squires was a carpenter and wheelwright by trade which proved to be of great importance not only to himself but to the town.

It was the first establishment of the kind in town and the only one in the county at that time. Mr. Squires came from Columbia County to the town of Milford.

The forefathers of the Squire family were emigrants from Wales to Connecticut.

Isaac Squire married Anna Southard who was born in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick of Irish parentage.

Mr. Squire's father Asa Squires came to Milford with him and he lived with him for several years and was accidentally killed by the fall of a tree.

Isaac Squires reared a family of eleven children: six sons and five daughters.

   Judson, his eldest son, married Sally Reynolds.
   Eunice, his eldest daughter, married Jacob Dingman.
   Clarry married William Scott, Jr.
   Sally never married and died when a young woman.
   Mary Ann married Abner Hunt.
   Isaac married Freida Davis.
   William married Margaret Mitchell first and Olive Jack second.
   Charles married Louisa Manchester first and Harriet Slocum second.
   Solomon married Sary Ann Humphrey.
   Eliza married Captain Joseph Still.
   Asa D., the youngest son, married Martha Westcott.

The Squire family and their companions have all gone to their long home except Asa D. and wife and Solomon's widow.

The Squire family, father and mother, and all their children and their companions were all prominent members of the Baptist Church at Milford Center except Asa and wife. Asa belonged to no church, but his wife belonged to the Methodist Church. Mr. Squire had a large posterity of grandchildren.

Eli Rose Family

The Rose family were natives of Woodstock, Windom County, Connecticut, and went from Connecticut to Fairfield, Massachusetts to the town of Austerlitz, Columbia County, New York. The origin of the Roses according to the Biographical history is German. Whether they belong to the German colony that migrated to the state of Connecticut, the writer is unable to state. The first knowledge the writer has of them, they were as stated above in Woodstock, Conn.

The father of the Roses of Maryland and Milford was among the early settlers of Maryland.

Eli Rose, the principal subject of this sketch, was born in Fairfield, Massachusetts, in Green River, and removed to Hallow, Columbia County, New York.

Mr. Eli Rose moved into the town of Milford in 1809, located east of Edson Corners and kept hotel in the house that is owned at present by Solomon Sergeant. His son, Eli Jr. Was born in said house in 1811.

Soon after he purchased the farm which now lies in the Spoonville District of Deacon John Wiser in 1812 and remained on the same until his death.

Mr. Rose married for his first wife, Joanna Dewey of Connecticut and had an issue of nine children. Their names were as follows:

   Wealthy, his eldest daughter, married Reuben Westcott, Jr.
   Zilphy married Abram Graves of Vermont
   Aaron, his eldest son, married Sally Yager.
   Elihu married Amy Stevens.
   Dianthy married Patrick McGown.
   Eli married Polly Murry first and Louisa Maria Kingman second.
   Joanna married James Scott.
   Roxana married David White first and Russell Spafford second, a Baptist Clergyman.
   Nathaniel married Brookana Murry.

Mr. Eli Rose married for his second wife, Sally Scott, but had no issue. She lived six years and died.

For his third wife, he married Alice Stevens and had an issue of four children.

   Jesse married Hannah Pratt, and died young.
   Nathan married Emma Taylor of Watertown, Jefferson County, New York
   Harriet married Seymer Brownson of Delaware County
   Eugena married Mariette Crandall. (Eugenia Kincade Rose)

His children by his first wife are all passed away but Nathaniel. Jesse and E.N. Rose are dead; Harriet and Nathan are living.

Samuel Miller settled in Spoonville about 1810, was a blacksmith, had one son Peter Miller who married Amanda Grover. Mr. Miller resided in Spoonville until 1826, sold to Seth Rowland and went to Pennsylvania. Since Rowland sold, the place has changed hands several times.

Smith and William Humphrey came from Chatham, Columbia County, about 1820. Smith located on the west of the school house and William on a farm joining his brother Smith. Emeline, eldest daughter of Smith Humphrey married Seth Rowland and reared a large family.

   Philip, Smith's son, married Sally Thomas of Middlefield and reared a family of 
       several children.
   Eunice married Theodore M. Stone and had several children.
   Sary Ann married Solomon Squire and had two sons.
   William Humphrey married Miss Smith of Columbia and reared a large family.
       William and his wife are both dead and his children left the country.

Sharp and Rockwell migrated from Massachusetts and purchased a farm in the west part of this district about 1816 and lived on it several years.

Rockwell died and Sharp sold to Jacob Dingman from Davenport, Delaware County. Mr. Dingman was formerly from Columbia County. Mr. Dingman married Dolly Van Buren of Kinderhook. She was a cousin to Abraham Van Buren, President Martin Van Buren's father.

When this part of the country was first settled by the Holland Dutch, it was called by the Dutch, New Holland and Kinderhook was in this settlement. It has been stated that all the Van Burens of this country were all descendants of the colony who settled in Kinderhook. For further information, see the Van Buren Genealogy.

Mr. Dingman reared two sons and one daughter. His daughter -- married Allen Brown, a professional school teacher. Jacob married Eunice Squire. Benjamin married Arminda Newkirk. All reared large families.

In addition to the above settlers, a number of families located in this vicinity who were rather transient settlers. Among them were Abraham Van Buren, Peter Van Buren, Peter Dingman, Luke Salisbury, Edward McGraw, Christopher McGraw, Warren Wickham.

Abraham Moore came from Kinderhook about 1810. He reared a large family and became quite prosperous.

This constitutes the early settlers of Spoonville. This belonged to the Aylesworth school district until 1832. Then the people reorganized a new district and erected a new school house and Allen Brown was the first teacher.

How Spoonville received its name.

A certain gentleman and wife had trouble with their mother, maliciously charged her with stealing their silver spoons. The mother started to go west to live with another daughter, whom she admired more and before she started, they slipped their spoons in her trunk. When she had traveled about ten miles, they sent an officer after her and brought her back. They charged her with stealing the spoons. But it was shown satisfactorily to the Court that it was a malicious accusation and she was discharged.

One morning, soon after, it was found written in large letters on a wagonhouse close to the road - Spoonville. Since then, it has retained the name. Several changes have taken place in this vicinity which I shall not mention at present.

In 1803 John Crydenwise came to Spoonville and located on the farm which he sold to Eli Rose's son in 1814. Afterwards he purchased a wild farm on the hill. He remained on it until 1850, and then moved to Edson Corners with their daughters who were milliners.

Deacon Crydenwise came from Saratoga, and purchased the farm that he sold to Eli Rose as stated above in its primitive state and made good improvements on the same.

Chapter 12
The Reed Settlement

This part of the town was first settled in 1803 by Calvin Underwood of Schuyler Lake who was formerly from one of the New England States and was of English origin.

Mr. Underwood commenced on the farm, now owned by Daman Edson. He constructed a log house in the month of November, made some improvements and returned to Schuyler Lake until spring. He then came back to his new house in the unbroken wilderness. Mr. Underwood lived on his primitive house for a few years and sold it to Joseph Pettengill of Florida, Montgomery County, and he sold to Nehemiah Edson who was formerly from Kenebec, Maine. It remains in the Edson family at the present time.

Nehemiah Edson married Parnal Reed, a native of Kenebec, Maine. They had six sons and two daughters.

   John, the eldest, was never married.
   Lydia married Seth Rowland.
   Elijah married a Miss Swartout of Maryland.
   Barzilla married Anna Cronkite.
   Lucy married a man named Swartout.
   Rhenel married Lerena Spage of Rhode Island.
   Joseph married Hannah Jewell.
   Damond married Tesse Kingman, and still remains on the old farm.

The children of Mr. Edson all had big families.

Beezer Reed was the next settler in this district. He married Ruth Edson of the same place. Mr. and Mrs. Reed were the parents of nine children.

   Beezar, the eldest son, married Nancy Sully.
   Paul married Sarah Keith.
   Isaaih married -- Scott.
   Silas married Hannah Adams.
   William married a lady in Delaware County.
   Sylvia married David Nevins.
   Lucy married Elijah Keith.
   Elijah married Julina Miller.
   Dealia married William Cronkhite.

Mr. Reed's posterity was very large. Not one of his children or their companions are living. Mr. Reed was a lumberman who constructed two saw mills and carried on a large business of lumbering.

James Cyphers and two brothers were the next settlers. James was the only one that remained in the town. James married Silva Edson. They all came from Kenebec.

Mr. Cyphers was a farmer, and finally was converted to the Christian religion and became a preacher of the Gospel, and was a true follower of Jesus Christ. He had no children. He died very suddenly. His wife also died suddenly.

About 1822, Warren Wickham came to this settlement and purchased a lease lot, constructed a saw mill, went to lumbering and soon sold to Isaac Rowland and he sold to Mr. Edson and purchased another place and lived on it a few years, then returned to Middlefield.

About 1824, the people of that vicinity organized a school district, purchased a log house of Warren Wickham and converted it into a school house and Ann Richman, a daughter of Elder Richman, was the first one that taught the first school in that district.

Since 1824, there has been a great many changes which I shall not attempt to mention.

Pike's Corners

Pike's Corners is located in the Southwest part of the town of Milford. This primitive settlement was made about 1803 by a man by the name of Pike. Nobody knew who he was nor where he came from.

He squatted on the thousand acre tract of land owned by parties in New York City. It was then a perfect wilderness. He erected a log house and barn and commenced operations as a farmer. Soon after a road was cut through the forest on the old Indian trail from Milford Center to Laurens and another was cut from West Milford to the head of Oneonta Creek, and the roads crossed in Pikes Corners settlement.That was the only place to stop between West Milford and the Oneonta Creek and between Milford Center and Laurens; consequently Pike thought it a good idea to start a tavern to accommodate people that were weary. He placed a sign over his door which read as follows: "Pikes Corners. Fine drinks and also other refreshments."

Pike remained there a number of years; nobody molested him and he finally left as mysteriously as he had come. His buildings remained a long time; different families occupied them, for they paid nothing for them until about 1829. Two brothers who were merchants in Laurens by the name of Bostwick, purchased the whole thousand acres and commenced business as lumbermen. This tract was extensively covered with pine and oak of a very fine quality.

They were anxious to work it up into lumber, but there was no water on it; consequently, they were compelled to draw their logs to the Otego Creek to have manufactured into lumber. They found that rather expensive and some said to them that they could construct a mill to run by horse power and do good business.

They went at it and built a mill to run by horse power. The mill required twelve horses to run it. They fooled with their old horses for about a year and it proved a failure. While they were at New York after goods, they heard of a steam saw mill and went some distance to see the mill and found it worked admirably well. They made a contract with a man and machinist to build a mill for them and this proved satisfactory.

They worked up their lumber, improved their land, erected a whiskey distillery and did a large business.

Hiram took charge of the store and Salmon moved upon the lumber farm and had charge of the lumbering, farming, and distillery. About the time they had worked up the lumber, Salmon sickened and died. Hiram subdivided the one thousand acres into farms and sold out. After he disposed of the farm and the store, he moved to Steuben County.

Benjamin Brightman Family

Benjamin Brightman came to this locality, about 1800. He was a farmer and also a mason by trade, the first one in this locality.

Mr. Brightman reared a large family of six sons and two daughters. They proved to be interesting, intelligent people. Most of them remained in this neighborhood until the hand of Providence took them away. Joseph Brightman was a very popular man in society. He was a farmer and a speculator. He reared a large family to inherit his estate and the farm is in the hands of his heirs.

William Richardson and Family

William Richardson came to Milford quite early and he did more to augment this locality than any man near Pikes Corners. He married Polly Austin, a relative of Mr. Brightman and prosecuted his business vigorously without cessation.

He commenced as a farmer and a lumberman. He purchased a large farm well timbered, and erected there a saw mill and worked up his lumber, rafted it to Baltimore, made good sales and was well remembered for his labors.

Mr. Richardson erected a grist mill, and a distillery, employed a large number of men and proved to be the best business man in that locality.

He had an issue of nine children: five sons and four daughters.

   Julina, his eldest daughter, married James Green. He was a carpenter, architect and builder.
   Bridget his second daughter, married Simon Green, a farmer. 
   Susana his third daughter, married Ransom Houghtaling, a farmer. 
   Elizabeth, his fourth daughter, married Samuel Peet, a farmer.
   Benjamin, his eldest son, married Sally Ann Peet.
   Cary, his second son never was married. He went to Grand Rapids, Michigan, 
     became a wholesale speculator, and amassed a large fortune, was stricken 
     with consumption and died. 
   Austin went west with his brother Cary, and after Cary died, he took the responsibility to conduct the businesss, and has since died. 
   William and Andrew followed their brothers and remained there.

When the town of Oneonta was first organized in 1830, the most of the town was taken from Milford. Previous to the ortanization of Oneonta, Milfored embraced all the territory to the Plains. When it was organized, William Richardson was elected the first Supervisor of Oneonta.

Mr. Richardson held the office three consecutive years. According to tradition, a Methodist Society was organized at the Richardson Hollow in or about 1850 and their meetings were held in the district school house, but the school house being inadequate for the society meetings, the people deemed it advisable to erect a house of God for their worship. They built a church in 1856 to fulfill their requirements. The church is a fine fashionable structure.

The first cheese factory that was built in the town of Laurens or Oneonta was at this place. The Richardson Cheese Factory was built in 1865 and was well patronized for several years, and then the Slingerland Factory was erected on the Beers Peet farm and the old factory was abandoned.

When William Richardson came to town, according to tradition it was about 1800. He was a single man. Afterwards he married Polly Austin.

Before the town was divided, when Pikes Corners and Richardson Hollow ere included in the town of Milford, Mr. Richardson was considered one of the first men of Milford. For his judgement and business qualifications he was always elected to some town office. He held the office of assessor a long time before the division of the town.

Mrs. Richardson was born in the north part of Laurens or Hartwick when the county was an almost unbroken wilderness. The nearest grist mill to Mr. James Austin wass Tubbsville, now Toddsville. Mr. Austin started out one morning late in the fall to go to Tubbs Mill with grist on his back as he had done before and that was the last he was ever seen. It was supposed he was either killed by some strange Indian or devoured by wild beasts which the wilderness was full of at that time. If a pack of wolves had congregated, they would tackle man or beast and devour them quickly.

Chapter 14
Ephriam Farrington Settlement

This settlement was made by Ephriam Farrington in 1800. He was a native of Chatham, Columbia County, New York. The father of Ephriam was one of three brothers that came to America prior to the Revolution from England and settled near Chatham, Columbia County, New York.

Mr. Farrington married Miss Mary Wickham of Chatham. Mr. and Mrs. Farrington were primitive settlers in the town of Milford, built a log house in new country style, raised a large family, and enjoyed the fruits of their labors. Both died on the farm they purchased, well respected by their neighbors. Mrs. Farrington died before her husband at the age of 84. Mr. Farrington died at the age of 93. The writer is unable to give the names of all his daughters.

His eldest daughter married Adam Cook, a farmer who raised a large family. Mr. Cook's second son Joshua became a celebrated Baptist clergman. He was educated at Hamilton College and was a man of eloquence and a great revivalist and died at middle age. Mr. Cook's second daughter married Zachariah Bassinger who reared a large family. Mr. Bassinger was accidentally drowned in the river at Portlandville in 1835. Mr. Bassinger's oldest son was a lawyer and went west, and died.

Mr. Farrington's daughter married Coonrad Yager and one daughter married Basset Peet who reared a large family and became insane and died.

Mr. Farrington's eldest son Jacob married Elizabeth Wolf and reared a respectable family. His second son Ephriam Jr. Married Polly Yager, but had an issue of ---- and all are now dead. Jacob Farrington Jr. Has a walking stick which was made by his grandfather when a lad, which he values very highly. It must be over a hundred years since it was made.

Mrs. Farrington's father, Old Mr. Wickham, as he was generally called, was a remarkable man for longevity. Mr. Wickham lived to the age of 102 years. He died very suddenly, was very smart and retained his faculties until he dropped dead. The day he was one hundred years old, he married his second wife, and his appearance was like a man at sixty. The woman he married was in her eighties.

The next year after Mr. Farrington arrived at his place three other families migrated from Columbia and settled in the same neighborhood. Warren Wickham, the Balis family, and the Merry family all raised large families. About the same season Garrett Van Valkenberg from Schoharie County settled a little east.

The reader will see it constituted quite a colony.

Royal Merry when a young man and in company with other young men in about 1815 weent to the river to practice their horses to swim, and was accidentally drowned. His horse became entangled with the bridle and before they could save him he drowned.

Garrett Van Valkenburg commonly called Tollack had an issue of several children. James Van Valkenburgh, the oldest son was a Baptist clertyman and was considered a very fine orator.

The Peet Family

Josiah Peet, a gentleman from Trumble, Conencticut, whose religious sentiments were of the Quaker order came to the town of Milford and settled a little west of the Farrington settlement which is now in Oneonta.

Mr. Peet's family consisted of himself, wife, four sons, one daughter. His sons' names were: Basset, Beers, David, and Isaac. His daughter's name was Eunice, who married William mcClelland, a Quaker priest.

Mr. Peet commenced in a dense wilderness, erected his log cabin and felled the forest trees and had a hard struggle for the first years of life in his wild habitation, but Providence favored him, and he passed through the adversities of a new country life and made a success of it.

His eldest son became insane and never recovered his reason. His sons, Beers and Isaac, were very successful farmers and both became wealthy and respectable citizens. His son David went west.

Josiah Peet, the father, married Anna Beers of Trumble, connecticut. Basset his oldest married Miss Farrington reared a large family, became insane, never reclaimed his reason and finally died.

Beers, his second son, married Lydia Hait who also belonged to the Quakers. Beers' family consisted of two sons and one daughter. Solomon, the oldest son, married Arminda Gile and had an issue of three sons and one daughter. The daughter's name was Frances. His sons' names were Thomas, James, and Fenimore.

James married Amelia Lord and had one son. Frances was never married. Beers Peet's daughter Sally Ann married Benjamin Richardson and reared a family of several children.

Josiah Peet's daughter Eunice married William McClellan, a Quaker priest and had one son. The third son Isaac married Ruth Shove. He had an issue of five sons and two daughters. His sons' names were Shove, John, Edward, Josiah, and Samuel. His daughters' names were Cary and Amy.

Isaac Peet's oldest son married Marie Miller. John, the second son, married Marie Gallup of Fly Creek. Edward, the third son, married Charlotte Winchel. Samuel the fifth son, married Elizabeth Richardson. Josiah died unmarried. The oldest daughter Carry married Romanzo Brooks. The other daughter Amy married Henry Gifford. This ends the posterity of Josiah Peet down to the third generation.

Richard Cooley

Richard Cooly migrated to Milford about 1806 from Montgomery County and first located in West Milford, and remained there according to tradition until about 1812, and then moved to Richardson Hollow, and remained there on the farm he purchased until his death.

Mr. Cooly reared a large family, but nearly all have passed away. Morris, the oldest, married Miss Green and had one daughter and died. He married his second wife, reared a larte family and died. Mr. Morris Cooly was a successful business man, accumulated a good property and left his wife and family well provided for.

James Green, a gentleman from Montgomery County, came to Milfore with and in company of Mr. Cooly and after he had remained in town a few years married Asie Baker, a lady of Laurens. Mr. Green reared a large family who were all intelligent and respectable. His second son, James, was a carpenter, architect, and a builder. James married Juliana Richardson, reared a family of three children: one son and two daughters. Mr. James Green and wife are both dead.

James Green Family

Simon, the third son, married Bridget Richardson and had an issue of eight children. Simon Green died several years since. His family remain in the town of Oneonta. Mrs. Green is well advanced in years. Her family are mostly located in Oneonta. poem on page 245 of original manuscript - omitted here

Elihu Gifford

Elihu Gifford came from Dutchess County before 1800 and located in the same neighborhood with the Peet family. He was also of Quaker religion. Mr. Gifford had an issue of eight children: six sons and two daughters. His family were all very prosperous and highly respected.

Mr. Gifford was a showemaker. He was a superb workman. It was said that he could do as much work at shoemaking as two common workmen. The entire Gifford family have all gone to the spirit world. There are several grand children and great grandchildren left.

The Shove family came to this same settlement quite eqrly and they have all passed away. They were also Quakers.

The Bornts were quite numberous among the early settlers and some of them were very prominent in society.

The Yager Family

Solomon Yager, a gentlemen from Green Bush, Rensselaer County, settled in the town of Milford, then Shephard's Hollow. Mr. Yager was the parent of eight sons and two daughters.

His sons' names were David, John S., Wilhelmus, Jacob, Abram, George, Philip, and Peter. The girls were Lydia and Sally.

I think his eldest son David came in 1806 a little in advance of his father, and after David came his father and the other brothers soon followed in 1808. The Yager family were considered wealthy people. His sons all purchased farms and were well situated and highly respected by the early inhabitants. I heard his daughter Sally, who married Aaron Rose, say "When the Yager family came to Milford, they brought with them a Skipple of dollars". A skipple is a measure which holds three pecks English. They had a large amount of property.

I heard John S. say they were of German origin, and as regards their religious sentiments they all belonged to the Dutch Reformed Church. After they came to Milford, the whole family joined the Baptist Church at Milford Center and were very prudent in society.

Wilhelmus was soon ordained Deacon of the church, and held the position until he removed to Oneida County.

John S. Yager was a licensed preacher of the Baptist denomination and a man possedssed of a great gift of oratory. He never was ordained although he was a great revivalist.

The Yagers remained members of the Baptist church at Milford Center till after the Baptist Church was organized at Oneonta, and then they took letters of dismissal and all joined the Oneonta church.

George and Philip migrated to Brokensraw, Crawford County, Pennsylvania. Aaron Rose and his wife followed the two brothers.

Solomon Yager and his ten children have all passed to eternity.

Chapter 15
Colliersville Settlement

The first settlement made in this locality was made by Isaac Collier and family in the season of 1785. Mr. Collier was a native of Montgomery County, came to Milford by way of Fort Plain and up the Esquago Creek to the head of Otsego Lake. Some settlements had been made up the creek as far as Van Hornsville, and but little progress had been made from there to the head of the lake. One or two log houses had been erected at the head of the lake, but had been abandoned during the war. They were uninhabited at the time Mr. Collier came to the head of the lake.

When General Clinton came to Otsego Lake with his army, he took the route and had improved the road from Van Hornesville to the lake. This was accomplished in 1779 prior to the descent down the lake to the head of the Susquehanna, and then down the river to meet General Sullivan at Ogego.

When Mr. Collier arrived at Van Hornesville, he availed himself of the labors of General Clinton and pursued the same course to the lake. There he procured canoes enough to put his possessions in and descended the lake to the foot while his sons traveled through the forest with his horses and went to Clinton's camp ground, and camped overnight. The next day they descended the river and all arrived at their destination before night, set his family and avails upon the west bank of the Susquehanna and was sheltered by the large hemlock trees overnight.

The next day they erected a temporary tent until they could build a suitable log house for their convenience. After he had erected his house and commenced operations, it was his earnest desire to obtain a title to the land in order to know just what to do. He went to see Mr. Mumford and was informed by him that the place where he had located was a patent grant, and he would be obliged to see the land agent. He was informed that George Clark was the owner and he would be obliged to see him.

After spending some time and trouble, he found Mr. Clark and procured a lease for a large tract of land at the junction of the Schenevus Creek for one shilling per acre.

Thus commenced the primitive settlement of Colliers.

Mr. Collier had a family of four sons and two daughters. The eldest two sons were young men and proved to be a great benefit to their father in a new country.

Mr. Collier was of German origin; he married Miss Sally Quackenbush of Montgomery County. Mrs. Collier was of Holland descent. His oldest son William married Dorcas Mumford and had an issue of one son and one daughter. His grandson Isaac married Elizabeth Cromer of Schoharie. His daughter Rachel married Anson Mitchel. Both raised families.

Mr. Isaac Collier's second son Jeremy married an Arnout, and left the country. His third son Peter married Elizabeth Mann of Schoharie County and had one daughter Eliza. Mr. Collier's fourth son Jacob never married.

After Mr. Collier was permanently settled, he was constrained to erect a sawmill for his own convenience. Consequently he erected a saw mill on a small stream about a quarter of a mile south which was rather a frail concern, but answered every purpose for a short time. It was what was designated a penstock mill.

The first house Mr. Collier built was a log house, constructed after the new country style, split planks for the floor, a stone wall in one end for a fireplace, covered with bark, a hole in the roof to let the smoke escape, small window holes without glass constituted a fine house. After he got his mill in operation, he found himself in better circumstances. He erected a new house of fine dimensions which is called a block house. A Block house is constructed of hewn logs built log house fashion; hewn timbers placed one above another to a suitable height gave it a prepossessing appearance. This was quite large, a stack of chimneys in the center which was so arranged with two large rooms, one north and one south, with a fireplace in each room, an entry way between and a stairway to up to the chamber which comprised the sleeping departments. First they used a ladder, and then stairs.

This house was constructed for a tavern, and was the first tavern in the town. The two large rooms below were used for a bar room and sitting room and the other for a kitchen, cook, and dining room with one bed in either room.

This tavern became celebrated throughout the country and the first town meeting was held here. All public business was transacted at the Collier house. The old house stood a number of years, and as necessity required a better home, Mr. Collier erected a new magnificent building which was considered the most capacious public house in the country.

Before he erected his new house, he damned the river and constructed a saw mill and a grist mill, which was of great importance to himself and also to the surrounding country. The Collier tavern was a celebrated house well known throughout the state.

The Collier mills were built in or about 1806. The Collier dam was the first dam constructed across the Susquehanna between the Otsego Lake and Tidewater. Before the Collier Dam was constructed, the herring ran up the river to the lake, but, when the dam was built, it stopped their progress and the inhabitants would take large quantities of herring with seines. Some time after the river was dammed below, the herring stopped coming up the river.

Peter remained with his father and assumed control of all his affairs. Peter Collier became very prominent in society, both as a business man and as a politician. He was also quite a military man, and he was appointed Major of the Militia.

Major Collier was elected to the office of Supervisor seventeen different times. The first time he was elected to the office was in 1819 and the last time was in 1836. Major Collier was elected a member of the Assembly two terms. He was said to be one of the loan Commissioners in the county of Otsego. Peter Collier married Elizabeth Mann of Cobleskill. Major Collier was born in Montgomery County in 1776, came to Milford with his parents in 1785 at the age of nine years. He remained in the same location until his death which occurred June 23, 1846. Mrs. Collier was born 1782 and died March 20, 1863.

Major Collier left one daughter Ann Eliza who was born May 1, 1803, died March 30, 1878. She married Jared Goodyear. Mr. and Mrs. Goodyear had one daughter, Alvira Collier Goodyear who married Sylvester Lyman, a native of Pittsfield, Massachusetts.

Mr. and Mrs. Lyman had one daughter, Ella Lyman, who remained on and occupied the old Collier homestead which was first settled by Isaac Collier in 1785. Miss Lyman remained unmarried.

For the benefit of the inhabitants of Milford, in order to correct a great many errors in relation to the Goodyear family, I will give the genealogy as I received it from Mr. Goodyear himself. I had heard many different statements. I took the liberty to ask him some questions in regard to his origin.

He volunteered to give me a general history of the Goodyear Family. He said the family migrated from England to America early in or very soon after the close of the seventeenth century and located in Connecticut. He said, "My parents were both born in Connecticut. My father was born April 26, 1767. I was born in New Haven, Connecticut July 24, 1792 (not in Schoharie). When I was a small boy, father concluded to move to Cayuga County, New York and commence business in a new country." He said they moved with ox teams. He said while they were traveling up the Mohawk River, they saw no highway fences, but line fences between every farm, and he was tossed out of the cart to open the gates. After a long tedious journey, they arrived at their destination in Cayuga County.

He said that his father purchased a large tract of land in an unbroken wilderness and commenced operations as a farmer by clearing the heavy forest trees, by putting up a log house and barn as was customary in all new countries. His father was very successful in his undertaking, but it was so far from any reliable market for selling wheat, corn, and other products, that he became discouraged. Albany was his nearest market, and the distance was so far, the time and expense was so great that it reduced the profits to such a degree that he decided to sell his farm and move east.

He purchased a farm in Schoharie and became a prosperous farmer, and remained on it until his death.

While the Goodyear family remained in Cayuga County, they formed an acquaintance with the Fillmore family who had migrated from Massachusetts and settled near Mr. Goodyear. Jared Goodyear and Millard Fillmore attended school together in a log school house.

After Mr. Goodyear returned to Schoharie, Jared Goodyear formed an acquaintance with a merchant of Albany. The merchant formed a very favorable opinion of the boy Jared and persuaded his father to allow Jared to go into the mercantile business on a small scale. The merchant would furnish him with goods for furnishing a store. His father gave his consent and Jared became a boy merchant, and that was the start of Mr. Goodyear's business life. After he had run the store several years, he sold out and went to driving cattle for the Albany market, and was very successful in this undertaking. While he was a drover, he formed an acquaintance with Miss Ann Eliza Collier, and finally they were married.

After they were married, he went into business with his father-in-law as a partner and remained a partner until the death of Mr. Collier. Then he assumed control of the firm, the remainder of his life, and when he died he was worth nearly a million dollars. The estate inventoried at $800,000.

I will relate one little circumstance just as he related it to me. He said, when he came out to Major Collier's place to marry his daughter in 1822, he drove a good pair of Schoharie Dutch horses, a new lumber wagon with green box and red dunning parts, a wooden spring seat and buffalo robe and he said he thought he was pretty well fixed. He said the youngsters of Schoharie said Goodyear is putting on a lot of style because he is going to marry Major Collier's daughter. And now he said the young men would use it to draw dung in.

At the time of Mr. Goodyear's death, he owned two thousand acres of land at the junction of Schenevus Creek and the Susquehanna River, and several large farms in different localities and a bank at Schoharie and was a heavy stockholder in the Albany and Susquehanna Railroad.

The first doctor in Milford was Peter Van Alstine located at Colliers. Dr. Van Alstine was a good surgeon and skillful in his practice and was considered one of the best in the country. He settled at Colliers in 1787.

He was unfortunate in his profession and was condemned by a large portion of the people in the vicinity of Colliers. A young lady was found dead by the side of the highway and on close examination it was found to be a pure case of malpractice, and Dr. Van Alstine was charged with the crime. The lady was found near a little ravine in a hollow near the Colliers Mills. The inhabitants became very indignant over the crime and threatened to arrest him for murder, and the excitement ran so high that the doctor considered it imprudent to remain longer in the place, and between two days, the doctor left for parts unknown, and his whereabouts were never known. The place where the young lady was found was every afterward called "Spook Hollow". It was claimed that strange sights were seen and groans of a person in awful agony were heard and the crying of a small child was heard. Horses were frightened, and all this was caused by the mysterious death of the young lady. No doubt Dr. Van Alstine had something to do with the crime, but clear from any evil designs.

Levi Hungerford was an early settler at Colliers, who reared a large family: six sons and two daughters. His sons' names were: John, Isaac, Stephen, Garret, Peter, and William. One of his daughters, Lana, married Jacob Morrell; the other married Jacob Clearwater. His children all raised large families. Mr. Hungerford's family have all passed away, and but few of his grandchildren are left.

The Hilsinger family were quite numerous at a certain time, but they have all left the town.

The Ousterout family were among the early settlers at Colliers, but there are very few left in the town. There were three brothers, William, Henry, and Abram, and several girls. One of the sisters married William Yoemans; one married David Kimble; and one married Joseph Fern. All reared large families, but few of the Ousterouts or their descendants remain in the town.

James Fern Family

James Fern came from England in or about 1823, and purchased a farm about one-half mile below Colliers. Mr. Fern's family consisted of himself, wife, and six children: four sons and two daughters. The Fern family were all well educated and highly respected in the town. None were married when they came to Colliers.

   Joseph, the eldest son, soon married Miss Osterhout and lived on part 
      of his father's place.
   William was a school teacher and finally read medicine with Dr. Consider 
      King of Milford Village and became a practicing physician. Dr. King 
      removed to Windham, Greene County, New York, and Dr. Fern went with him 
      as a partner. He was stricken with a sickness and died unmarried in 1829.
   Laurence, the third son, was a great writer. He emigrated to Illinois and 
      never returned. He read law with Judge Bowne, was one of the best 
      advocates of the profession of the Otsego Bar.
   James Fern Jr. was also a school teacher, married Ann Coon, and was a 
      farmer. He held the office of School Commissioner a number of years, 
      had several children and died young. His wife soon followed him. Sarah, 
      his eldest daughter, married John Alsop, an Englishman, had an issue of 
      several children and died.
   Elizabeth, the youngest daughter, was a celebrated school teacher, married 
      Samuel Clide of Cherry Valley, left the country, and that was the last 
      of the Fern family.

The Samuel Wells family that settled at Colliers, had three sons and four daughters. The Wells family have all passed away, but one son David who married July Ann Collier and he is an old man. He and his wife are still living at Colliers.

The first store at Colliers, kept by Collier and Goodyear in 1823. Soon after Peter Collier was appointed postmaster, and held the position as long as he lived.

Abram Cuck kept the second store at Colliers, married Miss Quackenbush and reared a large family of children. Mr. Cuck has dies, but his children occupy his old homestead.

The first bridge constructed across the river at Colliers was built in 1790.

The first settler on the hill west of Colliers was John Shaw about 1808. Soon after Peter Scott and Warren Ackley settled on wilderness farms on the hill and commenced new country farming. Soon after the first settlers, John Quackenbush purchased a hill farm, erected log buildings and was very prosperous.

William Yoemans and others followed their example. The place was then called "Shaw Hill". The land on this hill was good soil, and well timbered, but rather stoney. In consequence of the stone, Lemuel Ackley gave it a new name. He called it "Stone Arabia" and it has always retained the same name. At the present time not one of the old settlers nor their children remain on that hill.

Warren Ackley reared a family of five sons and daughters. His oldest son Mitchel married Eliza Quackenbush. His son Willis was a hop merchant. His third son Lemuel married Lydia Gurney who had several children. One of his sons Charles is the principal undertaker of the town of Laurens.

James Quackenbush's family came to the Susquehanna in 1786 and located on the east side of the river near the confluence of the Schenevus Creek. Mr. Quackenbush was a brother-in-law of Isaac Collier having married his sister. He came from Montgomery County and really belonged to the Colliers settlement. Mr. Quackenbush purchased a wilderness farm in new country style, and felled the forest trees for a permanent home. He reared a large and respectable family consisting of six sons and four daughters. His sons' names were Peter, John, Isaac, Abram, David, and William; his oldest daughter Rachel married Robert Martin of Montgomery County and located in Milford. He was a prominent man in society. His second daughter married a man by the name of Wolf. One of his daughters married Michel Yager and one was never married. His sons were all married, reared large families except William who lived an died a bachelor. His sons were very prosperous and enterprising business men. Isaac was a merchant who migrated west. Abram was a mechanic and also migrated west. The others were farmers and remained in Milford.

Source of the Schenevus and its Name

The Schenevus Creek rises in Schoharie County, and takes a southwesterly course and terminates at the Susquehanna. Long before the Susquehanna was settled by the white people, a very old Indian and his son went to the Susquehanna to see their brothers. On their return when they got as far as East Worcester, the old man failed and could not go any farther, and said he would die. It was necessary for the son to go home. The son made a fire and left his father for the night to care for himself. After he had traveled about a mile, he thought about the matter and thought it would be too bad for his father to remain alone, the fire would become extinct and the wolves would prey upon him and on reflection he returned and killed his father and buried him by the site of the creek. His name was Schenevus and the creek was always afterward called Schenevus.

continued in Section 3