Town of Milford
Annual Minutes
Copied by : Jayne Davis Szaz

Comments on My Transcription of the Town of Milford Annual Town Meeting Minutes

In the early 1990s Marion Brophy made photocopies for me of the Town of Milford Annual Town Meeting Minutes at the New York State Library in Cooperstown, Otsego County, New York, in reply to my request for information about my great great great grandfather, Christopher ELLI.S. As far as I know, the Minutes I have transcribed are all that remain of the Town of Milford's Annual Town Meeting Minutes, but I may be wrong about that; there may be Minutes for years before 1811 and after 1840. For anyone who wants to inquire of the library, its address is New York State Historical Association/The Farmers' Museum, Research Library, P.O. Box 800, Cooperstown, New York 13326, its telephone number is 607-547-1400, and its website is The call number for the Town of Milford Annual Town Meeting Minutes is N593.82(2). However, the Minutes for 1812 and 1813 are probably lost; if not, Marion would have sent copies of them to me also.

I have transcribed the information from The Town of Milford Annual Town Meeting Minutes for 1811 and 1814-1840 and have entered the information into separate documents by year. My comments are in brackets [ ].

You may notice that some pages are missing and, I presume, lost, and that some of the page numbers within the documents are out of sequence. That apparently happened because the responsible town clerk did not enter the information about an event until some time after the event. For instance, information from page 256 appears in the years 1827, 1828, and 1829 because information for those years appears on that one page. Also, some page numbers appear in two consecutive years because the town clerk continued writing minutes for the current year on the sheet used for the previous year rather than taking a new sheet of paper.

The page numbers are as they appear in the original document. Where [New page, unnumbered] appears at the top of the page, the photocopying must have cut off the page number. These missing page numbers seem to be the odd-numbered pages.

I have copied the text as it appears in the original document, which means I have retained the spelling of the original document. . Where I could not read letters or words, I have substituted underlining of the same length as the missing letters or words. There is little punctuation; the first, a comma, shows up in the late 1820s.

Where the town clerk left a space blank that should have been filled with a name or a word or words, I have typed (blank).

The researcher should look through all of the years to find her/his ancestor(s) because some of the names were spelled one way on one page and another way on another page or pages. Some of the names appear over the entire span of years while others appear only once or twice.

Town of Milford Annual Town Meeting Minutes

Page 264

At an Annual Town Meeting held at the house of Wm V White pursuant to Notice it was 
1st That This Town raise by Tax a sum of Money Equal to the amount Rcd from the 
School fund 
2nd Resolved that the By Laws remain for the Ensuing Year the same as Last
3rd Resolved that the following persons fill the different Stations in office for 
the Ensuing Year

Peter Collier Supervisor

Asa Eddy Town Clerk

Eli Rose
Robert Eldred Afsefsors

George Coon
Richard Swartwout Over the Poor

Wm V White 
Amos Waters Com High Ways
Robinson Aylesworth

Tho Coon
Smith Humphrey Com Common Schools
Lyman I Walworth

Levi Stewart
Allen Baker Inspectors
James Fern Jr

Page 265

Isaiah E Reed Constable & Collector

Tunis Snooke
Andrew Stone Constables

Wm H Coon
Daniel Winsor Justices peace

Jacob Edson Sealer of Weights & Measures

Daniel H Westcott
John Moore Pound masters
Thomas Baker 

Resolved that we Elect four Constables for the Ensuing Year
Resolved that we pay our Collector five percent for collection of the Tax
Resolved that the path masters or Overseers of high Ways for the Several Wards be 
and they are as follows for
Ward No. 1 Asa Eddy
    2 Amos Sweet
    3 Wm P Waite
    4 Joseph Mumford
    5 Jared Goodger
    7 James Fern
    10 Ephraim R Ferrington
   12 Abram Yager
   13 Jacob Ferrington
   14 Benjamin Yeomans
   15 Smith Humphrey
   16 David Breese
   17 Eli Rose
   18 John Wilcox
   19 George Lyon
   20 Ralph Jordan
   21 Andrew Shute Jr
   22 George Wilcox
   23 Joseph Whitford
   24 Parker Scott

Page 266

  25 William Stevens
  26 Philip G Schermerhorn
  27 David Morris
  28 Coonrad Yager
  30 John Wager
  31 John Low Jr
  32 Charles Ellis
  33 Amos Waters
  34 Hezekiah Farchild
  39 Alvin Lyon
  40 Nathaniel Appletree
  43 Bonnie Adams
  44 Robinson Aylesworth
  45 Bezir Reed
  46 Isaac Hungerford
  48 Aaron Lane
  49 Nehemiah Edson
  50 Alonzo Bridges
  51 Samuel Russell
  52 Cornelius Lane
  53 John W Oliver
  55 Nicholas R Schermerhorn
  56 William Cunningham
  57 Randolph Westcott
  59 Hiram Talmadge
  62 Warren Ackley
  63 Henry Smith
  65 Wm Crouch
  66 Wm Whitford
  67 John Crydenwise appointed

Resolved that the vote by Ballot to designate the place where the Town Meeting be 
held the next Year
We do hereby Certify the above to be a correct list of Town Officers Elected at the
 Annual Town Meeting for 1831 Dated March 1 1831
Asa Eddy Clerk Joseph Westcott }Justices of
Levi Stewart      }the peace

Page 267

Marks of Sheep and Cattle
Bridges V Moore a half crop on the upper Side of the Right Ear See page 85 formerly 
Isaac Edsons

Henry Wilcox Mark two half penny under the left ear and a slit in the end of the 
right ear formerly Abijah Fairchilds mark See page 241

Thomas Edelyn Mark is A Slit on each ear formerly John Bivens mark see page 103

Bridges & Moores Mark for sheep is the Right Ear cut square off and branded with B 
M May 1834

[Page 268 appears to be a continuation of Marks of Sheep and Cattle but is probably 
a mirror image of page 267 and is unreadable for that reason and also because the 
photocopy is faint.]

Otsego County Home Page