Town of Milford
Annual Minutes
Copied by : Jayne Davis Szaz

Comments on My Transcription of the Town of Milford Annual Town Meeting Minutes

In the early 1990s Marion Brophy made photocopies for me of the Town of Milford Annual Town Meeting Minutes at the New York State Library in Cooperstown, Otsego County, New York, in reply to my request for information about my great great great grandfather, Christopher ELLI.S. As far as I know, the Minutes I have transcribed are all that remain of the Town of Milford's Annual Town Meeting Minutes, but I may be wrong about that; there may be Minutes for years before 1811 and after 1840. For anyone who wants to inquire of the library, its address is New York State Historical Association/The Farmers' Museum, Research Library, P.O. Box 800, Cooperstown, New York 13326, its telephone number is 607-547-1400, and its website is The call number for the Town of Milford Annual Town Meeting Minutes is N593.82(2). However, the Minutes for 1812 and 1813 are probably lost; if not, Marion would have sent copies of them to me also.

I have transcribed the information from The Town of Milford Annual Town Meeting Minutes for 1811 and 1814-1840 and have entered the information into separate documents by year. My comments are in brackets [ ].

You may notice that some pages are missing and, I presume, lost, and that some of the page numbers within the documents are out of sequence. That apparently happened because the responsible town clerk did not enter the information about an event until some time after the event. For instance, information from page 256 appears in the years 1827, 1828, and 1829 because information for those years appears on that one page. Also, some page numbers appear in two consecutive years because the town clerk continued writing minutes for the current year on the sheet used for the previous year rather than taking a new sheet of paper.

The page numbers are as they appear in the original document. Where [New page, unnumbered] appears at the top of the page, the photocopying must have cut off the page number. These missing page numbers seem to be the odd-numbered pages.

I have copied the text as it appears in the original document, which means I have retained the spelling of the original document. . Where I could not read letters or words, I have substituted underlining of the same length as the missing letters or words. There is little punctuation; the first, a comma, shows up in the late 1820s.

Where the town clerk left a space blank that should have been filled with a name or a word or words, I have typed (blank).

The researcher should look through all of the years to find her/his ancestor(s) because some of the names were spelled one way on one page and another way on another page or pages. Some of the names appear over the entire span of years while others appear only once or twice.

Town of Milford Annual Town Meeting Minutes
Page 301

At an annual Town Meeting of the freeholders of the town of Milford held at the 
house of Jefse Mumford in Said town on the 6th day of March 1838 the following 
resolutions were pafsed ______ the following persons were chosen to fill the said 
offices in Said Town got for the following year Viz

Resolved 1 that there be 3 afsefsors
Resolved 2 that there be 4 Constables
Resolved 3 that we raise as much money for the support of Common Schools as we 
receive from the State
Resolved 4 that the fence viewers receive one dollar per day
Resolved 5 that the collector receive 5 percent
Resolved 6 that the School Inspectors receive one dollar per day when in actual 

Page 302

Resolved 7 that the next annual town meeting be held at the house of Jefse Mumford

List of persons elected at the annual town meeting held on the 6th day of March 1838

Viz Allen Baker				Town Clerk

Peter Collier					Supervisor

William Kirby					Justice of the Peace

Stephen Platt
Richard Swartwout				Afsefsors
Lorenzo Bates

Hiram Scott					Commifsioners
Charles Ellis					of
William W. Scott				Highways

John Brown					Collector

John Brown
Reuben A. Goodrich				Constables
Nathan Tanner
Jacob Dietz

Peter Cline					Overseers of
Smith Hunphrey				the Poor

Elijah Brown					Commifsioners
William Kirby					of
Dennison R. Boyce				Schools

Allen Baker					Inspectors
James Fern					of
Jacob Dietz					Schools

Joseph Westcott				Town Sealer

Orange Bifsell
Marlin Gardner
Joseph Westcott				Pound Masters
Peter Collier
Henry Willcox

Page 303

No of Ward		Overseer of Highways
1 Jacob Hopkins
2 Norman Griswold
3 Amos Sweet
4 John Whiteside
5 Chancey Brown
6 Mathias Lane
7 Jefse Mumford
8 Joseph Mumford
9 Ebenezer Soule
10 Peter Collier
11 Joseph Fern
12 Solomon Peck
13 Zebediah Martin
14 Hosea Westcott
15 Henry Willcox
16 John Aylsworth
17 Otis Westcott
18 Alexander Cummings
19 Henry Schermerhorn
20 John Cridenwise
21 Edward Seger
22 Charles Wellman
23 Harry Lyon
24 William Stevens
25 John A. Cronkite
26 Solomon E. Bostwick
27 Jeremiah Bowman
28 Bezer Reed
29 William Fairwell
30 Reuben Westcott Jr
31 Peter Scott
32 Lyman Scott
33 Harvey Bifsell
34 Chester Whitford
35 William Whitford
36 Lorenzo Lane
37 Harvey Houghton
38 Elihu Gifford Jr
39 Aaron Lane
40 John Green
41 Nehemiah W. Kingman
42 Augustus Vars
43 Amos F. Waters
44 Philip Wager
45 John Low Jr.
46 Philip Mosher
47 Stephen Platt
48 Solomon Townsend
49 Benjamin Estes
50 Abraham Gurney
51 Thomas Crouch
52 Rufus Houghton
53 Seth Rowland
54 E      Lester
55 Daniel Green
56 Henry Van Valkenburgh

Page 304

We the inspectors of this election do hereby certify that the above persons are 
elected to fill the various offices in the town of Milford for the year 1838. Dated 
at Milford this 6th day of March 1838
							Henry Willcox     }Justices
							Thomas Burnside }of the
							Levi Stewart         }Peace

We the comifsioners of highways of the town of Milford do annex Ward 52 to Ward _9 
in said of Milford
Milford March 24, 1838				Hiram Sweet }Commifsioners
							Charles Ellis  } of
							Wm W. Scott }Highways

We the comifsioners of highways of the town of Milford do annex Ward No. 40 to Ward 
No. 32 in said town of Milford    Milford March 24,1838
							Hiram Sweet }Commifsioners
							Charles Ellis }of
							Wm W. Scott}Highways

Otsego County Home Page