Town of Milford
Annual Minutes
Copied by : Jayne Davis Szaz

Comments on My Transcription of the Town of Milford Annual Town Meeting Minutes

In the early 1990s Marion Brophy made photocopies for me of the Town of Milford Annual Town Meeting Minutes at the New York State Library in Cooperstown, Otsego County, New York, in reply to my request for information about my great great great grandfather, Christopher ELLI.S. As far as I know, the Minutes I have transcribed are all that remain of the Town of Milford's Annual Town Meeting Minutes, but I may be wrong about that; there may be Minutes for years before 1811 and after 1840. For anyone who wants to inquire of the library, its address is New York State Historical Association/The Farmers' Museum, Research Library, P.O. Box 800, Cooperstown, New York 13326, its telephone number is 607-547-1400, and its website is The call number for the Town of Milford Annual Town Meeting Minutes is N593.82(2). However, the Minutes for 1812 and 1813 are probably lost; if not, Marion would have sent copies of them to me also.

I have transcribed the information from The Town of Milford Annual Town Meeting Minutes for 1811 and 1814-1840 and have entered the information into separate documents by year. My comments are in brackets [ ].

You may notice that some pages are missing and, I presume, lost, and that some of the page numbers within the documents are out of sequence. That apparently happened because the responsible town clerk did not enter the information about an event until some time after the event. For instance, information from page 256 appears in the years 1827, 1828, and 1829 because information for those years appears on that one page. Also, some page numbers appear in two consecutive years because the town clerk continued writing minutes for the current year on the sheet used for the previous year rather than taking a new sheet of paper.

The page numbers are as they appear in the original document. Where [New page, unnumbered] appears at the top of the page, the photocopying must have cut off the page number. These missing page numbers seem to be the odd-numbered pages.

I have copied the text as it appears in the original document, which means I have retained the spelling of the original document. . Where I could not read letters or words, I have substituted underlining of the same length as the missing letters or words. There is little punctuation; the first, a comma, shows up in the late 1820s.

Where the town clerk left a space blank that should have been filled with a name or a word or words, I have typed (blank).

The researcher should look through all of the years to find her/his ancestor(s) because some of the names were spelled one way on one page and another way on another page or pages. Some of the names appear over the entire span of years while others appear only once or twice.

Town of Milford Annual Town Meeting Minutes

Entered of record Feb 25, 1840
Allen Baker Town Clerk

Marks of Cattle Sheep & Swine
Allen Bakers mark  A Swallows tail or hollow crop of the Right ear  formerly 
Thomas Bakers mark  see 88th page

The following resolutions were adopted at the annual town meeting held at the house 
of Jesse Mumford March 3rd 1840 Viz.

First That there be three Assessors chosen for the ensuing year

Second That there be four constables for the ensuing year

It was afterwards determined that this next annual town meeting be held at Jesse 

The following named persons were chosen town officers for this ensuing year Viz/

Asa Eddy				Supervisor

Chauncey Brown			Town Clerk

Joseph Westcott 			Justice to fill a vacancy

Henry Wilcox				Justice

Luther Brewer
John Dietz				Assessors
Edward Seger

Lorenzo Bates				Commissioners
Daniel H. Westcott			of
Garret W. Dietz			Highways

Page 309

William Fairwell			Overseers
Eli Rose				of Poor

Allen Baker				Commisioners
Samuel Russell			of
Dennison R. Boyce			Common Schools

John Eddy				Inspectors
James Fern Jr.				of
James G. Walley			Schools

Jacob Dietz				Collector

John Brown
James M. Scott			Constables
Reuben A. Goodrich

Levi B. Tarbox			Sealer of Weights and Measures

Overseers of Highways
No of Wards
1 James Donnelly
2 Judah Waters
3 Isaac Bissell
4 Griswold Walworth
5 Chauncey Brown
6 Samuel Russell
7 Ebenezer Cronkite
8 Joseph Westcott
9 Timothy Cook
10 Jared Goodyer
11 James Fern
12 Gideon Ray
13 Andrew Shute Jr.
14 Hosea Westcott
15 Henry Wilcox
16 John Aylsworth
17 Edward Seger
18 Abraham Van Buren
19 David Wilcox
20 George Aylsworth
21 Russell Spafford
22 Nicholas Schermerhorn
23 Alvin Lyon
24 Simeon Stevens
25 Benoni Adams
26 Simon Green
27 Jeremiah Bowman
28 Bezer Reed
29 Zuri Wellman
30 Horace Keth
31 Benjamin Shaw
32 Lyman Scott
33 William Scott
34 Chester Whitford
35 William Whitford
36 Warren Lyon
37 Harvey Houghton
38 Elihu Gifford 

Page 310

39 Peter Marlatt
41 George D Hoag
42 Augustus Vars
43 Amos Waters
44 Charles Ellis
45 Alonzo Low
46 William R Hardy
47 Stephen Platt
48 James Seeley
49 Benjamin Estes
50 Peter Bromfield
51 Robert Crandell
53 David White
54 Jurial Preston
55 John Quackenbofs
56 Amos Keth

We the undernamed Justices of the Peace of the Town of Milford do hereby certify 
that the above named Persons were this day Elected to fill the offices as above 
named in the Said Town the 3rd day of March A 1840
							William Kirby}Justices
							Henry Wilcox }

Allen Baker Clerk

Otsego County Home Page