Town of Otsego Minutes 1828 - page 1

At  the annual meeting of the freeholders and inhabitants of the town of Otsego held at the Court House 
fourth day of March 1828
					Present  George Morell     )
						  C.  Jarvis          )   Jus
						  C.  Stevens      )

Voted  that the town raise two hundred and fifty dollars for the support of the Poor for the year ensuing.

Voted  the town elect three assessors and four Constables.

Voted  that the Collector be allowed three pr cent as his fees.

Proceeded to Ballet for town officers when the following persons were declared duly elected.

	George Morell      Supt
	George Pomeroy   Town Clerk

		Joseph Griffin Jr )
		Jared Allen Jr      )    Assessors
		Daniel Marvin    )

		John Russell Jr.   )
		Elias Root	    )     Coms of High Ways
		William Johnson )

			Stephen Gregory    )
			Buckingham Fitch  )   Overseers of the Poor

		Henry Scott Jr   )
		Kent Jarvis	   )     Coms of Com Schools
		Abm Van Horne )

		   	Ariel Spafard        )
			Job Potter	      )    School Inspec
			G A Starkweather  )

				1828 - page 2

	Homer Beadle		Const & Collector

		Ira Tanner        )
		Kent Jarvis	 )    Const
		A  A  Ensworth )

Resolved that the same amount of money be raised for Com Schools as the law required.

Resolved  that Sheep, Hogs & Horses shall not run at large under the Penalty of 50 cents each.

Resolved  that Cattle shall not run at large from the 1st Nov. to 1s April under the penalty of  25 cents each	
         that the School Inspectors receive Eight Shillings pr day while 	Inspecting the schools.

	Unanimously that we are opposed to the division of the town by setting 			
off the west part of the town to the town of Burlington

	Elijah Mathewson )
	Henry Luce           )
	Erastus Taylor      )
	Ovid Drake	     )	Fence Viewers
	Wm. Johnson       )
	Wm  Adams         )
	Ira. Tannar           )

			William Nichols )
			David Marvin	   )       Pound Masters	
			Hart Seymour     )

				1828 - page 3

				Path Masters

1.  George Morell			45. Elias Geer
2.  Calvin Graves			47. John Burrus
3.   John Kellog			48. Saml Jones
4.   Lester C  Doubleday		50. John Russell  Jr
5.   Theodorus Allen			51.  Saml Hicock
6.   Levi Pierce			53. John Hinds
7.   Buck Fitch			56.  Benedict Price
8.   James E  Lathrop		57. Jacob R. Root
9.   Joseph Cheney			58. Erastus Taylor
10. William Williams			59. Lewis Brockway
11. John Davis			60. Samuel Morris
12. Zatty Andrus			61. Stephen Babbit
13. Alxr. Hicock			63. Saml Spooner
14. William Ruttenburgh Jr.		64. Jacob Gates
15. David Marvin			65. Joseph G  Crosby
16. William Johnson			66. Chancy N  Chapman
17. Horace Beadle			67. Dennis Clark
18. Moses Sumner			30. Abm Shutes
19. Jared Allen Jr
20. Daniel P. Barney
21. Robert Weeks
22. Saml C Bosworth
23. John Dunbar
24. Sirajah  Newell
25. Hosea Williams
26. Stephen Allen				from the minutes
27. James D  Colt
28. Horace Shipman				G P
29. Truman Dewey Jr			 T  Clk
31. Nathan W. Metcalf
32. Ozias L Williams
33. John Lumly
34. Demas A Doubleday
35. Martin Pickens
38. Josiah Tanner
39. John De Long
40. John Bowen Jr.
41. Peter Mc Croar
44. Hiram Coonrod
Back to Town of Otsego Minutes Index