Town of Otsego Minutes 1837 - page 1

At a Meeting of the Freeholders and Inhabitants of the town of Otsego held at the Court 
House on the first Tuesday of March 1837
						S  Doubleday )
						C  Jarvis         )    Just
						G  Sprague     )

	That the town choose Three assessors and four Constables for the year ensuing

	That the Collector be allowed five p ct for Collecting

	That  4 1/2 feet in height shall constitute a lawful fence

	That each school Inspector receive 50 cents for each Teacher inspected - provided 
that if several persons present themselves for Inspection agreeable to notice of the Inspectors 
at one time - the Inspectors shall then and in that case be allowed 10 [shillings]  pr day 

	That each school Inspector  not exceeding two  shall receive one dollar for each school 
Inspected and examined - provided no more than two schools are examined in one day  each school 
receiving a half days examination

	That the school Coms be allowed 10 [shillings] pr day

		1837 - page 2

	That no Cattle  sheep  Hogs or Horses shall be permitted to run at large at any time 
during the year under the penalty of Twenty five cents for each and every offense
	That Rams shall not be permitted to run at large from 1st of August until the 25 	
Novr under the penalty of five dolls.

	As to the sense of the inhabitants of the town of Otsego in annual meeting assembled that 
neither of the applications now before the Legislature of this state for a Division of the 
Territory of the good old county of Otsego and not called for by a proper regard to the public 
interests and that any measure of the kind 	would operate -------------    to the inhabitants 
as a mass by increasing their burdens of taxation while it would diminish  their right in the scale 
of political influence in the state.

	That our Representatives in assembly be requested to use their influence in obtaining a 
law to tax all Incorporated Companies on the High Ways and to make them liable to be sued 
before a single Justice.

	That the Supervisor of this town be requested to urge on the next Board of Supervisors 
the repayment of such monies as may be found due the towns on 	account of Collection fees.

				1837 - page  3
				Path Masters

1.   Benjamin Burlingham		38. David Price
2.   Calvin Williams			39. Peter Mc Rorie
3.   Tracy Kellogg			41. D   Roberts
4.   L  C  Doubleday			42. Walter Tunnicliff
5.   Francis Misson			44. Calvin Conrod
6.   George Johnson 2d		45. Martin Pickens
7.   H  B  Sprague			46  John Clark
8.   Joseph Hinds			47. Martin Catis
9.   Joseph Cheney			48. Jona Roberts
10. C  Williams			49  Plat St John
11. Thomas/John * Higby		50. Thos Russell
12. Zatta Andrus			51. Esek Bradford
13. Samuel Spencer			53. Joseph Rose
14. Truman Peck			56. John Wiley Jr
15. William Higby			57. John Bush
16. Lorenzo Jarvis			58. Horace Taylor
17. Horace Beadle			59. Isaac Fisher
18. Claudius Dilly			60. Olney Andrus
19. Delos Pier			61. Josiah Babbit
20. Colonel Eldid			63. Nathaniel Chapman
21. Samuel Steer			64. Peter H Smith
22. Hiram Tenant			65. John  B Bissell
23. Jacob Dunbar			66. Nathan Bates
24. Lewis Van Buskirk		67. John Wilson
25. Rufus Bourne
26. Abel Benjamin
27. William Turner
28. Russell Warren
29. Roswell Babbit
30. Isaac Russell
31. Andrew Metcalf
32. John Williams
33. Asahel B Davison
34. Daniel Mc Rorie
35. Orlando C  Underwood
36. Alvin Barrus
37. Isaac Welden

* John appears on the line, written above it is Thomas

				1837 - page 4

	The following persons were duly elected officers for the year ensuing.

		Elihu Phinney		Supervisor
		George Pomeroy 	Town Clerk

			Janus J Paul      )
			Zebulon Gibbs  )	Assessors
			Leander Plumb    )

		Erastus Tayler 2d    )
		William P Johnson    )		Coms of High Ways
		Joseph Bennett       )

			Chester Jarvis   )
			E  D  Richardson )	School Coms
			Wm Williams      )

		John Hannay      )
		Parley E Johnson )		School Insp
		Hiram Babcock    )

		Benjamin Ruggles 		Collector

			Benjamin Ruggles )
			Ira Tannar           )
			Lewis Nash         )	Constables
			John Hurd           )

		Alson Preston           )
		Caleb Thayer	 )	over seers of the Poor

		William Williams	 Justice from Jany 1838

		Ellery Cory  Town Sealer

	From the minutes
	  Geo Pomeroy		Seth Doubleday    )
	   T Clk		                   Chester Jarvis    )   Justices

Back to Town of Otsego Minutes Index