Otsego Town Minutes 
1849 - page 1
At the annual Town Meeting of the Electors of the Town of Otsego held at the House of
William Lewis in the Village of Cooperstown on Tuesday the 6  day of March 1849
			Hiram S  Babcock )
			Delos D  Pier         )	Justices
			Herbert M  Coburn )
			William P  Johnson )
On Motion Resolved
	That the Town choose four constables
	That cattle, sheep, Horses and Hogs shall not be permitted to run at large at any
	time, under the penalty of Twenty Five cents for each and every offence
	That Rams shall not be permitted to run at large from the first day of August, to
	the Twenty fifty day of November, under the penalty of Five Dollars for each &
	every offence
	The following persons were then duly Elected to the several offices to which their
	names are annexed for the ensuing Year or term of Years-

	Henry Phinney		Supervisor

	George Jarvis		Town  Clerk

	William P  Johnson		Justice  4 Years

	Hezekiah B  Sprague	Assessor  3 Years

	John Williams		Road Commissioner for  3 Years

					1849 - page 2

	Caleb Thayer       )
	John B  Northrup )		Overseers of Poor

	Nelson Herdman 		Collector

	Jasper Sherwood      )
	Richard A  Freeman )	Constables
	Nelson Herdman      )
	Levi Peirce  jun        )

	Richard Cooley      )		Inspectors of Elections, 
	Richard Van Horne )		  Dist  No  one
	Thomas B  Leek     )

	John A  Badger )
	John K  Leaning )		Inspectors of Elections
	Henry Bliss      )		   Dust  No  Two

	Holder Cory		Town Sealer

				1849 - page 3
				     Path Masters

1    Thomas Whitwell			32  John Williams
2    Isaac Keeling crossed out, L.T. Metcalf added	
3    Jared Brainard				33  Richard Davidson
4    Mc Kean Thompson			34  A  B  Van Horne
5    Naman Perkins				35  Orlo Underwood
6    Alson Preston				36  William Shaw
7    Buckingham Fitch 			37  Damon Delong
8    James E  Lathrop			38  Daniel Rynder
9    Daniel Greene				39  James Sitts
10  Titus B  Davidson			40  Alonzo Kellogg crossed out, Edwin Pier added
11  Thomas Higby				42  Weedon Gorton
12  Peter Edgett				43  Joseph W  Johnson
13  David Hecox				44  Gilbert Coonrod
14  Ackler Knowlton			45  Elias Gear
15  Edward  Olendorf			46  Horace Taylor
16  Rufus Preston				47  Ely Hyde
17  Charles Harris crossed out, Walter Tunnicliff added  48  Timothy Kinney
18  Samuel Kinney				49  John B  Bissell
19  Oliver Freeman				50  Nelson Russell
20  Benjamin Thompson			51  Joseph Shilleto
21  Jacob Wiley				52  Madison Whipple
22  Joshua Baird				53  Judiah Ellsworth
23  Hiram Barton				54  Jacob Allen
24  Hiram Newell				55  Josiah Babbitt
25  Rice Austin				56  Ephraim B  Burnside
26  Abell Benjamin				57  Fayette Hinds,  no.57 & name crossed out
27  Jesse Perkins				58  Nicholas Wilson, no 58 & name crossed out
28  Rufus Warren				59  Nicholas Wilson
29  Jefferson Prossor			60  Henry Jarvis
30  George Scribner				61  Samuel Pashley
31  Levi Thayer				62  William B  Adams
					63  William Williams
					58  Fayette Hinds

No  of Ratebles          569		From the Minutes  Geo Jarvis T Clerk
No of days Assessed   1964 3/4              H  S  Babcock  )
				H  M  Coburn   ) 
				Wm P  Johnson )   Justices
				Delos D  Pier    )
Back to Town of Otsego Minutes Index