Otsego Town Minutes 
1852 - page 1
At the Annual Town Meeting of the Electors of the town of Otsego  held at the House of
Wm  Lewis in the Village of Cooperstown  on Tuesday the 2d day of March 1852
					Present          Hiram S  Babcock )
					      	      E  B  Crandall       )    Just
						      Wm  P  Johnson   )
						       John Sutherland   ) 

The following persons were duly elected to the Several Offices to which their names are
annexed for the ensuing year of term of years

		Lewis R  Parmer	Supervisor

		Richard A  Lesley	Town Clerk

		Wm  H  Ruggles	Town Superintendent

		Edward B  Crandall	Justice of the Piece

		Constantine King	Com of Highways

		Parley Johnson     )
		George McNamee )	Overseers of the Poor

		Russell Bourne	Tax Assessor

		German Snyder	Tax Collector

		Peter Becker           )	Inspector of Election
		Andrew Metcalf      )       Dist  No 1
		Samuel W Bingham )

		Francis H  Williams )	     Inspector of Election
		Robert G  Russell    )           Dist  No 2
		Zebulon G  Garlock )		

		Wm  K  Bingham	  Town Sealer

				1852 - page 2

		Jacob C  Snyder  )
		Nelson Herdman )    For Constables
		Ira Hide  Jr          )
		Cornelius C  Fish)

	On Motion resolved that the Town choose four Constables

		that Cattle  Sheep  Horses and Hogs shall not be permitted to run at large
	at any time under the penalty of twenty five cents for each and every offence.

		that Rams shall not be permitted to run at large from the first day of Aug
	to the twenty fifth day of November under the penalty of Five dollars for each and
	every offence.

						Hiram S  Babcock)
						E  B  Crandall       )
						Wm  P  Johnson   )      Justices
						John Sutherland   )
	From the Minutes
						J.  H.  Nellis  Town Clerk

					1852 - page 3
					Path Masters
1    John Burch			33  Chester Davidson
2    No Such Number		34  Erastus Brockway
3    Erastus Warren			35  Orange Delong
4    Randall Chapman		36  Lorenzo Jarvis
5    A  T  Van Horne			37  Peter Kinny
6    Benajah Comstock		38  Chester Heacox
7    Ira H  Tanner			39  James Serts
8    Orlo C  Underwood		40  Demis A  Doubleday
9    Daniel Green			41          McRoy
10  John C  Williams			42  Damon Sutherland
11  Thos  Higby                                 	 43  J  W  Johnson
12  Peter Edgett crossed out		44  Juda  Elsworth
13  David Heacox			45  Charles Hinds
14  Ackler Knowlton		46  Harvey Bliss
15  Chester Higby			47  Wm  Hull
16  Daniel Preston			48  Daniel G  Story
17  Truman Dewey Jr crossed out, Walter Tunnicliff added     49  Jeremiah Briggs
18  Truman Dewey			50  Charles Russell
19  Oliver Freeman			51  John S  Card
20  Benj  Thompson    52  Peter VanValkenburg crossed out, George Wedderspoon added
21  Jacob Wiley			53  M.  House
22  Joshuah Byard			54  Wm  Hinds
23  Delos Eldridge			55  Daniel Carpenter
24  Lewis Van Buskirck		56  John Wiley
25  Russell Bourne			57  
26  John C  Wiley			58  Fayette Hinds
27  Daniel W  Clark			59  George Tucker
28  Neamiah Hinds			60  F  Jarvis
29  Jefferson Proper			61  Samuel Paishley
30  John Peirce			62  Wm  B  Adams
31  Hezekiah Warren		63  Jacob A  Johnson
32  John Williams
		From the Minutes
				J  Nellis
				Town Clerk
			No of Rateables      819
			Days Assessed       2068
Back to Town of Otsego Minutes Index