Town of Milford
Annual Minutes
Copied by : Jayne Davis Szaz

Comments on My Transcription of the Town of Milford Annual Town Meeting Minutes

In the early 1990s Marion Brophy made photocopies for me of the Town of Milford Annual Town Meeting Minutes at the New York State Library in Cooperstown, Otsego County, New York, in reply to my request for information about my great great great grandfather, Christopher ELLI.S. As far as I know, the Minutes I have transcribed are all that remain of the Town of Milford's Annual Town Meeting Minutes, but I may be wrong about that; there may be Minutes for years before 1811 and after 1840. For anyone who wants to inquire of the library, its address is New York State Historical Association/The Farmers' Museum, Research Library, P.O. Box 800, Cooperstown, New York 13326, its telephone number is 607-547-1400, and its website is The call number for the Town of Milford Annual Town Meeting Minutes is N593.82(2). However, the Minutes for 1812 and 1813 are probably lost; if not, Marion would have sent copies of them to me also.

I have transcribed the information from The Town of Milford Annual Town Meeting Minutes for 1811 and 1814-1840 and have entered the information into separate documents by year. My comments are in brackets [ ].

You may notice that some pages are missing and, I presume, lost, and that some of the page numbers within the documents are out of sequence. That apparently happened because the responsible town clerk did not enter the information about an event until some time after the event. For instance, information from page 256 appears in the years 1827, 1828, and 1829 because information for those years appears on that one page. Also, some page numbers appear in two consecutive years because the town clerk continued writing minutes for the current year on the sheet used for the previous year rather than taking a new sheet of paper.

The page numbers are as they appear in the original document. Where [New page, unnumbered] appears at the top of the page, the photocopying must have cut off the page number. These missing page numbers seem to be the odd-numbered pages.

I have copied the text as it appears in the original document, which means I have retained the spelling of the original document. . Where I could not read letters or words, I have substituted underlining of the same length as the missing letters or words. There is little punctuation; the first, a comma, shows up in the late 1820s.

Where the town clerk left a space blank that should have been filled with a name or a word or words, I have typed (blank).

The researcher should look through all of the years to find her/his ancestor(s) because some of the names were spelled one way on one page and another way on another page or pages. Some of the names appear over the entire span of years while others appear only once or twice.

Town of Milford Annual Town Meeting Minutes

Page 256

Division of 41 Ward
The undersigned Commifsioners of High Ways for the Town of Milford think it best to 
divide the 41st Ward in the Town of Milford into two Wards the 41 Ward begins on 
the road which Leads from Milford Ville to Laurens near Jacob Thayers, thence on 
the road from Frederick Bornts and Henry K__hillers until it intersects the Road 
above described near Asel Marvins, 65th Ward begins at the turn of the road leading
 from Beers Peets to John Quackenbofs at the foot of the hill and runs By John S 
Yagers and ends where said Road intersects the Road Leading from David Yagers 
to William Richardsons
Milford Feb 17, 1829				Walter Fitch }Com
						Walter Scott} of
						Ralph Jordan }High Ways

Page 257

Milford March 3rd 1829

At the annual Town Meeting Which was held at the house of William V White on the 
third day of March it was voted that Seventy Five Dollars should be raised for the 
support of the poor on Condition it Should be ____ted. 
Voted that the Collector have but three present for Collecting the taxes of Said 
town for the ensuring year 
Voted that there be six inspectors of schools

Also Resolved that the following persons fill the different Stations in office for 
Said Town The ensuing year Viz

Asa Eddy			Town Clerk
Peter Collier			Supervisor
Daniel Lee			Collector

Daniel Babcock		
Judah Waters Jr		Afsefsors
William Richardson

Alonzo Bridges
William Scott			Com of High Ways
Samuel Walling

Richard Swartwout
George Coon			Over Seers of Poor
David Mackey
Isaiah S Reed
Calvin Bates			Constables
Clarke W Baker

John Moore jr.
Thomas Coon			Com of Comon Schools
Eliakim R Ford

Lyman I Walworth
Ryla I Tihts
Joseph Linsley			Inspectors of Schools
Jacob Edson
Alpha Bligh
Clark W Baker

				Asa Eddy T Clk

Page 258

Thomas D. Alexander
William V White
Asahel Marvin			Pound Masters
Beers Peet
Peter Collier
Thomas Baker

Tunns Snooke
Judah Waters jr
Reuben Beals
Aaron Lane			Fence Viewers
Eli Rose
William Angel
Adams Brown

The following are the Path Masters for the Said Town

Ward No 1	Asa Eddy
2	Amos Sweet
3	Griswold Walworth
4	Abraham Quackenbofs
5	Jared Goodyer
6	Jeremiah S Walling
7	George Shelman
8	Joseph Walling
9	Abraham A Houghtaling
10	John Quackenbofs
11	William Angel
12	Paul Reed
13	Jacob Ferrington
14	Abraham Gurney
15	Smith Humphrey
16	George A Wilcox
17	Benajah Aylesworth
18	Harvey Houghton
19	Gideon Ray
20	Ralph Jordan
21	Zebediah Martin
22	Hosea Westcott
23	Joseph Whitford
24	Andrew Stone
25	John Conrike
26	William H Watkins
27	Elias Rogers jr
28	John T Quackenbofs
29	Thomas Munter
30	John Wager
31	Alexander Horth
32	William Ellis
33	Harvey C Jewel
34	James Bernside
35	Parker Wilson
36	Henry Gifford
37	David Yager
38	Roswell Bowdish
39	Henry Lyon
40	Nathaniel Applebee
41	Frederick Bornt
42	Henry Holbert
43	Holden E Sweet
44	Benjamin Aylesworth
45	(blank)
46	Peter Scott
47	Daniel Griswold
48	Cornelius Van Buren
49	William Farewell
50	Salmon Rufsell
51	Samuel Rufsell
52	Cornelius Lane
53	Nelson Mumford
54	Jacob Yager
55	Jacob Wellman
56	William Cunningham
57	George Mumford
58	Jeremiah T Morinus
59	John Treen
60	Frederick Farnum
62	  Warner Ackley
63	  Vinson Austin
64	  John S. Yager

Voted that the by laws Shall remain as they were pafsed in 1823

Voted that the next Annual Town Meeting be held at William V Whites Milford

Asa Eddy Town Clerk

Page 261

Stray Cow
Broke into my enclosure on the 22nd of July a cow suppose to be four year old 

Brindle, with white feet and line back with some other white marks about her

Aug 20th 1829						Daniel French
							Asa Eddy Clk


Return to Home Page